Building a comp: new to this!

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Rawrsome, Oct 29, 2003.

1. Rawrsome

Rawrsome RAWR

Building a Fast One....

OK, i have never built one before. So that said, here are the parts I have found so far. What else do I need/want to make this comp run awesome. I want it to be faster and look nicer than my one month old alienware, so it could take some doing!

Mother Board: ASUS Motherboard for Intel Pentium 4 / Celeron Processors, 800Mhz FSB Model# P4P800 Deluxe Retail [NewEgg]

CPU: Intel Pentium 4 2.8GHz / 512K Cache / 800MHz FSB / Socket 478 / HyperThreading / Processor with Fan [TigerDirect]

Heatsink: Zalman CNPS7000A-AlCu Aluminum + Copper CPU Cooler for AMD XP Socket 462 & 754 and Intel Socket 478

Case: Chieftec Matrix Series Carbon Black Full-Tower ATX Case with Clear Side and Fan [TigerDirect]

Power Supply: Powmax Black 500 Watt Aluminum Dual Fan Power Supply with LED Lights [TigerDirect]

HD: Western Digital Raptor 36GB SATA WD360GD 10,000 RPM 8MB Hard Drive OEM [NewEgg]

HD: WD WESTERN DIGITAL "SPECIAL EDITION" 120GB 7200RPM EIDE HARD DRIVE MODEL # WD1200JB - OEM, DRIVE ONLY [NewEgg]

CD-RW/DVD Drive: Artec Black 52x24x52x Internal IDE CD-RW with Nero Software [TigerDirect]

DVD Drive: Artec Black 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-ROM Drive with Power DVD Software [TigerDirect]

Video Card: Albatron GeForceFX 5600 256MB AGP8X with TV Out & DVI VideoCard [TigerDirect]

Memory: Corsair Value Select 512MB PC3200 DDR 400MHz Memory 2-Pack 1024MB Total [TigerDirect]

SoundCard: Creative Labs Sound Blaster Live! 5.1 PCI Sound Card [TigerDirect]

Memory Cooling: [2] Ultra Memory Aluminum Cooler (DDR or SDRAM) BLACK [TigerDirect]

Case Cooling: [2] Coolmax 4 LED Ball Bearing Blue Case Fan 80MM [TigerDirect]

Case Lighting: Ultra Blue 12" Cold Cathode Light Kit

Suggestions/Advice is welcome from all!

Last edited: Nov 2, 2003
  2. stillspiraling

stillspiraling Would you like some making fuck, BERSERKER