Build me a computer, please

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by trez157, Mar 5, 2007.

  1. trez157

    trez157 You can't trust freedom when it's not in your hand

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    19,359
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Cali
    Hey guys, a friend of mine is taking film school and is in need of a computer. They use Avid pro, so we need something based around the minimum specs for that. Let me tell you what they are

    WinXP SP2 - I can take care of that
    Quicktime :coolugh: I can take care of
    2GB of RAM for HD projects No speed specified
    One of the following processors
    - Xeon 2.4Ghz
    - Core 2 Duo 2.13GHZ
    - Core Duo 1.67 Ghz
    - P4 1.8Ghz

    Graphics card options
    All Nvidia Quadro FX series
    I was thinking the 1500 PCI Express since it is cheaper than the 3400. The only reason I am going with either of these is because they have been tested by Avid.

    Will also need at least a 40GB HDD and a DVD burner. Let me know what you guys can come up with. The other smaller options we already have. Monitor is needed too, widescreen preferred, maybe a 19, but a 17 inch is fine.

    Budget is around 2k.
    Thanks
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    Prolly gonna be best-off with the Core2. Grab an Intel mobo. Use Corsair memory. Grab a pair of Raptors for storage. Use NEC for the optical drive.

    Profit.
     
  3. jdw

    jdw New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    4,429
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ND
    I'd deffinetly look at as big of monitor as you can do or 2 monitors for editing video (I know the 22" widescreen I was using was about right when I was doing some stuff). I haven't used Avid myself, but I know it's frustrating as hell using Final Cut on a smaller monitor and trying to find somewhere for all the pallets.

    HDD size. Is there going to be an external used or will you be relying on the HDD in the computer for storage? HD video is really quite large IIRC so I'd look big and fast
     
  4. trez157

    trez157 You can't trust freedom when it's not in your hand

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    19,359
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Cali
    I told my friend that a big HDD would be good, because the HD stuff will use up space, so I think they want a big drive, but I want to build it with a raptor as the primary and a huge HDD for storage.
     
  5. trez157

    trez157 You can't trust freedom when it's not in your hand

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    19,359
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Cali
  6. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    get a better power supply. Fortron and enermax both make units in that price range.
     
  7. trez157

    trez157 You can't trust freedom when it's not in your hand

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    19,359
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Cali
    fuck, we were gonna order this weekend and they are out of the vid card now, lol. Any other good places to order?
     
  8. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    you're not missing much, PNY is rather lame. swap the brand?
     
  9. trez157

    trez157 You can't trust freedom when it's not in your hand

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    19,359
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Cali
    unfortunately that is all Newegg seems to carry for that one. Any decent brands you can recommend?
     
  10. trez157

    trez157 You can't trust freedom when it's not in your hand

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    19,359
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Cali
    and I took your advice and found a better PS.
     
  11. Cthalupa

    Cthalupa New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    46,930
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    You would recommend enermax over antec?

    :coolugh:
     
  12. Cthalupa

    Cthalupa New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    46,930
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
  13. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio


    As far as the Enermax's go, I don't like the low end ones, but the highend ones are pro.
     
  14. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    absolutely. Go compare them side-by-side. Enermax units are solid. They are very robust, built with good components, and are UNDERrated on their wattage.

    Antec, on the other hand, are not solid units. They are skimpy and built with junky components, and lack many features and controls/checks. They also over-state their wattage.

    I have seen systems that would not boot and remain stable with an antec 550W but would be perfectly stable under load using an enermax 365W.

    In terms of PSUs, enermax and fortron are like Toyota. PCP&C would be like ferrari. Antec, well, that's a 1990 Ford Fiesta.
     
  15. Cthalupa

    Cthalupa New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    46,930
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    In the sub $100 price range, I would say Antec wins hands down in my experience. I have had multiple Enermax units fail, while the Antec I'm currently using has outlasted 3 Enermaxs.
     
  16. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    i have killed countless antecs and only 1 enermax; I have disassembled them and can testify to their shitty construction. Antec is overpriced junk!
     
  17. Cthalupa

    Cthalupa New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    46,930
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    Maybe. I've just had much better luck with Antecs than I have Enermax, but I'm hesitant to chalk it up to coincidence that I've had 3 Enermaxs die on me (One taking my motherboard with it!), while the Antec I'm currently using has already lasted longer than the three of them combined, with no signs of letting up.
     

Share This Page