Browser question

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by red_fox, Feb 2, 2007.

  1. red_fox

    red_fox New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    columbus
    I just started using opera because firefox was slow and the only thing I don't like about Opera is that I can't do anything on a site until it completely loads. It's kind of a hassle when I go to sites that take a while to load and I have to wait for all the pictures, etc. In FF, the pictures might not have loaded but I could scroll up and down and type information at any time.

    Is there a setting to allow Opera not to wait for the whole site to load?

    Thanks
     
  2. MUDFISH

    MUDFISH New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    12,898
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Syracuse
    I used to swear by Firefox, but now that I've started using Safari, I love it... Its like switching from Windows to OSX...

    i've never used Opera, butyou should give Safari a shot...
     
  3. Pseudonym

    Pseudonym --

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2006
    Messages:
    2,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    :werd: Safari ftw.
     
  4. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    on my mac
    1) camino
    2) opera
    3) safari

    on my pc
    1) opera
    2) firefox
     
  5. red_fox

    red_fox New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    columbus
    what made you pick safari over firefox? I'm actually pretty satisfied with ff, there's just the boot up time and a few other quirks that bother me
     
  6. LifeBurnsFaster

    LifeBurnsFaster New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Messages:
    13,391
    Likes Received:
    0
    safari works pretty damn well
     
  7. colosodian

    colosodian Next Gen

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SF Bay
    Did you guys even read his question? He wasnt asking what browsers you use...

    OP, go to
    opera:config


    and look for a setting about page load times, or delay.

    might be First Update Delay
     
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2007
  8. red_fox

    red_fox New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    columbus
    colosodian, you are the man!

    haha, I checked the FUD value and it was set at a very high number. I changed it to 1000 and now Opera works beautifully.

    Thank you!
     

Share This Page