Broke my computer v.BadHarddrive...I think

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by J_75, Apr 28, 2009.

  1. J_75

    J_75 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Messages:
    2,769
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cliffs below...

    I decided to upgrade the memory on my computer because it's been seeming to run slow lately, and I've tried all the simple tricks and nothing is working (defrag, clearing out porn from harddrive, tried to clean registry, etc.)

    So I get the memory sticks (moving from 2 128 RAMBUS sticks to 2 512...it's an old Dell...yes, I know RAMBUS is old, outdated, and overpriced). I had been thinking I might as well run a Check Disk before I put the new memory in, and that's when shit hit the fan.....Check Disk ran for 3 days straight while continually going through a cycle of "Bad sector in 75991, Bad sector in 75992, etc."

    Somewhere in the third day it shuts itself down and now boots straight to a blue screen that looks like DOS (BIOS, I assume?) with some options, but I can't get to Windows.

    Obviously I don't know a lot about computers (except breaking them, apparently)

    My question is: Where do I start to repair this? Is it probable the hard drive is a lost cause? Do I need to update the BIOS? Too much porn?


    CLIFFS: Ran Check Disk, computer now boots to BIOS, and I don't know where to start to fix it.


    Any help is appreciated.
     
  2. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    can you confirm what this is? what does it say?

    i'm not that familiar with Dell's bios (fuck dell), but usually, if there is a problem in the bios, it will reboot, then ask you to press a key (maybe F1, F3, or F12, or whatever) before you can enter bios setup.

    i'm guessing that what you see is the so called 'blue screen of death' (BSOD)
    does it look like this?
    [​IMG]
     
  3. J_75

    J_75 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Messages:
    2,769
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. 4thgenceli

    4thgenceli Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yarg, that be yer bios. Try to revert to default settings in there.
     
  5. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    ok,.... it is the bios

    some PCs,.... when you install/change hardware, or if there is a problem,... it will enter bios setup
    it depends on the bios,... some you need to enter the correct settings, some are autodetect
    what you need to do is verify that the settings are correct then save and exit
     
  6. J_75

    J_75 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Messages:
    2,769
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there a way to do that if I don't see an option to revert to default?


    Also, when starting up it says: "Dell's Disk Monitoring system has detected that drive 0 on the primary EIDE controller is operating outside of normal specifications." etc...recommends backing up data and replacing hard drive, press F1 to boot (always fails), F2 to run setup utility.
     
  7. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    dead drive then
     
  8. J_75

    J_75 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Messages:
    2,769
    Likes Received:
    0
    So does that mean it's pretty much a dead computer also? Or can I take a shot at putting a new hard drive in? (although my luck hasn't been good with fixing stuff so far)
     
  9. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    just replace the drive, install new OS, then drivers, then porn
     
  10. J_75

    J_75 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Messages:
    2,769
    Likes Received:
    0
    :rofl: :bigthumb:


    Thanks, I'm going to try this....hopefully I won't burn the house down in the process.


    I know it's probably not the best idea, but I'm cheap and curious.......think it's worth trying to use Ubuntu for OS? I know I'm going to have to buy a new drive, I'd prefer to avoid dropping another $100+ on Windows Vista/7/whatever.
     
  11. SPACECATAZ

    SPACECATAZ New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,502
    Likes Received:
    0
    picture of the day :bowdown:
     
  12. MrEous

    MrEous OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    5,567
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Garland (DFW), TX
    I don't see an error in this pic...:hsugh:
     
  13. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    *cough* torrents *cough*

    srsly, it's just stupid to buy an OS right now anyway since Windows 7 would be released soon

    not sure if it still works,... you could try finding a Windows 7 Beta installer, then register for a product key here: http://www.microsoft.com/windows/windows-7/beta-download.aspx :dunno:
    then use that for a while

    but sure,... ubuntu is also an option
     
  14. pbcustom98

    pbcustom98 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,787
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    at a theater near you!
    are you fucking blind? shes got clothes on...

























    :naughty:
     

Share This Page