SRS BPD and college

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by keeler, Apr 7, 2008.

1. keeler

keeler New Member

i have borderline personality disorder. Im a college student and have changed my major 7 times, even changing back to some i was originally in. I start each major with extreme enthusiasm, as i did with my current major. I changed my major last semester, and i'm currently not sure i like it and kinda want to change again. I have an urge to change back to a major i already had. this entire thing is leaving me extremely frustrated and i have been in college too long with nothing to show for it. anyone have any advice, or are in a similar situation?

2. deusexaethera

deusexaethera OT Supporter

That's not borderline personality disorder, that's bipolar disorder.

Borderline Personality Disorder is a borderline-psychosis condition in which you subconsciously associate real things with figments of your imagination, and you can choose (also subconsciously) whether you pay more attention to the real thing or to the figment. (It's that ability to choose reality vs. your imagination that makes it borderline-psychosis, instead of full psychosis.)

My mother has it. She's been married to my father for 27 years, and the whole time she's really been in love with the man of her dreams, which my father is an anchor for, but when he does something inconsistent with her imagined "perfect man", there's hell to pay for it. It's not fun, and he's trying to get a divorce, but she's dragging her feet because she's still in love with the man of her dreams, and if my father goes away, then she won't be able to superimpose her imagination onto him anymore.