WEB Bought some new stuff for the home office

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by thomor25, Mar 14, 2008.

  1. thomor25

    thomor25 I make money online....

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2000
    Messages:
    11,101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    2 of these, 10krpm scsi 36gb drives
    [​IMG]

    To go into this DELL PowerEdge 6650 with the other one it came with

    QUAD XEON 1.4GHz 4GB Ram 36GB RAID capable
    [​IMG]

    And a whole bunch of these which plug into
    [​IMG]

    this gigabit switch which also has
    [​IMG]

    two of these
    Compaq Proliant DL360 G2 DUAL 1.4GHz P3 4GB 2x18GB raid0
    [​IMG]

    which all plug into
    [​IMG]

    which are all in
    [​IMG]
     
  2. Yuppy

    Yuppy Have a seat right there....

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    12,589
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    THE Hawkeye Nation
    no server for home

    :bowdown:
     
  3. thomor25

    thomor25 I make money online....

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2000
    Messages:
    11,101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    thats ontop of my 3 towers I have. I had to buy a floor standing ac unit for the office cause it gets so hot in here
     
  4. pkr

    pkr Guest

    What are you hosting? :hsugh:
     
  5. trev.the.enemy

    trev.the.enemy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    10,939
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Midwest
    google.com bro

    thought you knew? :ugh:
     
  6. thomor25

    thomor25 I make money online....

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2000
    Messages:
    11,101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    not as much hosting as much as running applications
     
  7. trev.the.enemy

    trev.the.enemy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    10,939
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Midwest
    baller setup though for sure. :bigthumb:
     
  8. wayno

    wayno New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    What kind of apps are you running that take all that horsepower?
     
  9. RaginBajin

    RaginBajin Have you punched a donkey today?

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    Messages:
    8,740
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NoVA
    Have you thought about going to get a Half Rack at a local colo?

    It might save you the uptime when your home electricity goes down, as well as the blistering sound and heat those bastards are going to give off.
     
  10. thomor25

    thomor25 I make money online....

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2000
    Messages:
    11,101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    its cheaper to run them here at home, bandwidth isn't a problem, cpu power is. If the electric goes out its ok cause with the ups they will stay on for a half hour and in the 2 years I've lived here its only gone out once for more then 15 mins. Most of the time its just a quick on and off.
     
  11. crazybenf

    crazybenf Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    15,575
    Likes Received:
    2
    :bowdown:

    Phenomenal deal on that shit.
     
  12. thomor25

    thomor25 I make money online....

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2000
    Messages:
    11,101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    ok good news and bad news,

    good news is the server arrived from fedex

    bad news is it didn't come with fucking power cables so I had to buy new ones and I have to wait for them to come in the mail, not bad tho cause I gotta wait for the 2 extra hd's to put into ti.

    I opened the bubblewrap and looked at it was was like "no fucking shit you gotta be kidding me are you serious" the empty plugs were staring at me mocking me like a little chink smiley like the dog in duck hunt.

    Pic of cables I need now.

    [​IMG]
     
  13. crazybenf

    crazybenf Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    15,575
    Likes Received:
    2
  14. rwdftw

    rwdftw Guest

    how much for everything?
     
  15. LOLZILLA

    LOLZILLA New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Messages:
    97,923
    Likes Received:
    0
    :rofl:
     
  16. Yahdude

    Yahdude New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,211
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PC, UT
    ?
     
  17. thomor25

    thomor25 I make money online....

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2000
    Messages:
    11,101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver Colorado

    About 1k in stuff there. I get it from an awesome wholesale place that recycles slightly used equipment. All together new all that stuff would cost around 8k.

    I sent he guy an email to see if I can get another rackmount ups and an ip kvm for 100 bucks each plus shipping.

    As far as what apps I can't really go into it.
     
  18. rwdftw

    rwdftw Guest

    what do you do for bandwidth? Host it using your DSL? or what?
     
  19. Jesse

    Jesse PSN: iamajesse; XBL: Inhale My Rod; G8 GT crew; Ne OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    25,649
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California :: (925)
    Because you're too lazy to leave the house and go by them yourself?
     
  20. retorq

    retorq What up bitch??

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    6,061
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mohave Desert
    All that stuff and a pos DLINK switch?? That's like a Porsche on BIG-O radials. :rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl:
     
  21. Deviance

    Deviance Can't you smell that smell? OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    4,989
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Rocky Mountain High
    What wholesaler did you use?

    I've been looking for a Dell 1955 (1855 maybe) blade server, but having a hell of a time finding one that isn't 20k+

    Do they buy switches too? I have a few 1U Extreme switches in the garage I need to get rid of .
     
  22. LOLZILLA

    LOLZILLA New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Messages:
    97,923
    Likes Received:
    0
    Except that's not really a porsche.
     
  23. LOLZILLA

    LOLZILLA New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Messages:
    97,923
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tight shit, though. I dig. :cool:
     
  24. thomor25

    thomor25 I make money online....

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2000
    Messages:
    11,101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    Don't need a cisco in there, I just need it to route info. Yes its on my cable internet and it doesn't use alot of bandwidth if any at all.

    the wholesaler doesn't buy stuff its stuff they have used its a datacenter can't give the link out tho.


    Jessie look at the plug its not a reg power cord I got 20 of the regular ones laying around.
     
  25. Jesse

    Jesse PSN: iamajesse; XBL: Inhale My Rod; G8 GT crew; Ne OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    25,649
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California :: (925)
    Why does everyone add an 'i' to my name? It's spelled right above my user text. :hsughno:
     

Share This Page