Bought an RF 500w [email protected] amp

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by FyreDaug, Mar 26, 2006.

  1. FyreDaug

    FyreDaug lolswift

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    23,228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    And I noticed it doesnt have any bass control. Theres some little plug in for something sync I think. Looks kind of like svideo if I remember right....

    Im guessing thats for the remote bass? I didnt get the wire for it for the extra bass boost or whatever its called.... whats the name of it and can I buy it from an audio store? I dont like using gain to turn my sub up, Id rather it sound good
     
  2. FyreDaug

    FyreDaug lolswift

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    23,228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    anyone have one? :(
     
  3. twistid

    twistid Banged By Super Models Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2001
    Messages:
    40,849
    Likes Received:
    112
    Location:
    The Kansass/Oklahomo Border
    what model amp???
     
  4. keleko

    keleko yes, he is

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    28,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lauderhill, fl
    you bought a black one, looks like a BBQ grill

    the socket is for a remote bass boost control, buy one off ebay
     
  5. keleko

    keleko yes, he is

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    28,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lauderhill, fl
    i *know* these amps quite well
     
  6. FyreDaug

    FyreDaug lolswift

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    23,228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    I dont know model, its a silver amp though. remot bass boost control eh... ill look it up
     
  7. keleko

    keleko yes, he is

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    28,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lauderhill, fl

    :ugh:

    silver?


    you got :Ownedd: - that's one of the shittiest ones they made

    actually, anything after the black bbq style is trash
    it all turned to consumer quality - meaning none
    prior to that they are fucking indestructable powerhouses that put out a lot of clean signal
     
  8. FyreDaug

    FyreDaug lolswift

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    23,228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    I cant say it doesnt sound good though...
     
  9. keleko

    keleko yes, he is

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    28,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lauderhill, fl
    i can

    99% of ppl who buy amps buy a name, and they just don't know sound QUALITY counts more, even more than power
     
  10. FyreDaug

    FyreDaug lolswift

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    23,228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Well this sounds better than my 200w black rockford amp thats older. It hits harder, and its got subsonic filter so it only hits what we hear.... I dunno, this amp > my last rockford amp
     
  11. twistid

    twistid Banged By Super Models Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2001
    Messages:
    40,849
    Likes Received:
    112
    Location:
    The Kansass/Oklahomo Border
    doesn't sound like it. :p
     
  12. twistid

    twistid Banged By Super Models Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2001
    Messages:
    40,849
    Likes Received:
    112
    Location:
    The Kansass/Oklahomo Border
  13. GlocksRock

    GlocksRock Glock > You

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    6,647
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    you will need the bass control knob made for that amp otherwise it may not work right.
     
  14. FyreDaug

    FyreDaug lolswift

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    23,228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Going by the pictures I see, I believe my amp to be a 500bd amp... and yes that control thing that you listed on ebay looks like what I need. Ill look around and see if I can find one "sooner" thanks for the help guys


    BTW, is the 500bd what you consider a shitty rf amp?
     
  15. keleko

    keleko yes, he is

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    28,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lauderhill, fl

    no mid-90's or earlier black BBQ-style, no fucking care

    :werd:

    there's a NEW one (still in shrinkwrap :noes: ) on ebay i should pick up....
     
  16. FyreDaug

    FyreDaug lolswift

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    23,228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    show me pics of this black bbq one, I might have one... my 200w might be
     
  17. twistid

    twistid Banged By Super Models Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2001
    Messages:
    40,849
    Likes Received:
    112
    Location:
    The Kansass/Oklahomo Border
    i run a 200s in my car, on a single alpine type-s 12". that's right... a 2ohm load, on a stereo amp bridged... of course i had to use a 40amp fuse, but it will play all day long... without shutting down.

    http://www.cardomain.com/shop/item.pl?sku=ROC200S
     
  18. FyreDaug

    FyreDaug lolswift

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    23,228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Shit, thats exactly the same as my 200w.... I Dunno, this 500w amp with increased gain sounds better than my 200w with less gain with +12db



    I want my bass boost for this amp!
     
  19. FyreDaug

    FyreDaug lolswift

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    23,228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Ill use that amp for a pair of 6.5" woofers I plan on purchasing. 150w each, 200w amp for 2.
     
  20. JRock10

    JRock10 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    7,751
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville, TN FTW
    the 500bd was the power class amp. all the power class amps were silver in that "body style" amp. The punch class were black. It's a fucking solid amp. What kind of input signal are you running to in (2v or 4v RCA)? Also, the amp is 2 ohm stable, so if you're not running at 2 ohms, then you'll be getting at best 300 watts out of it. And you need the punch bass knob. oval shaped with a 4 pin ( i think) phone cord.
     
  21. FyreDaug

    FyreDaug lolswift

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    23,228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    I dont know what level of input I get out my JVC mp3 player deck. Id imagine since it isnt a high end deck the output is lower.

    Type R is 4ohm DVC, so its getting 2ohm load
     
  22. funkbucket007

    funkbucket007 New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2003
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tennessee
    If it looks like an s-video connection, it could be a balanced input. My Power 50.1 & 50.2 have that. Not sure what amp you have though. The ones I'm refering to are silver with gold end caps.
     
  23. ngsm13

    ngsm13 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    2,706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    This is a good keyword.

    BUT Remote bass is exactly this. You want to keep your bass boost on ZERO... never use it... it's the number one cause for distortion and clipping in a subwoofer. Number two, is maxing out the gains... or turning them up more than the need to be...

    Follow this to set your gains:
    http://www.caraudio.com/forum/showthread.php?t=63933

    If you want to be able to turn your sub up and down... use the SUB-OUT on your HU ;)....
     
  24. darkslayer

    darkslayer There is more to life than increasing its speed.

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,243
    Likes Received:
    0
    Exactly. I was gonna say you dont need that bass boost. Not if you want a nice clean sound from the sub. Also the gain is not a volume control. It should be set to the output voltage of the HU.
    If you dont have an oscope or a dmm, turn the hu up to 3/4 volume with the gain set at zero. turn the gain up until you get a bit of distortion then back it off slightly.That should give you a clean unclipped signal.
     
  25. JRock10

    JRock10 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    7,751
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville, TN FTW
    actually, the BD amps don't really come to life without the punch bass. What it does is (IIRC) allow you to adjust from 0 gain to the level that the gain is set to on the amp. In other words: you have an adjustment from zero to half-gain (if your amp is set at half gain) when using the punch bass knob. I know the kicker amps worked this way,and i think rockfords did as well
     

Share This Page