Bought a house, question about built in speakers throughout

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by popsnbeer, Mar 18, 2010.

  1. popsnbeer

    popsnbeer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    I hope you guys can help answer this one for me :) I even brought pictures.

    I bought a former model home (new build). It has 2 6.5" speakers built into the ceiling in each room. Each room has a plastic wall plate covering what I believe to be a spot for a volume controller knob (can you verify with pics?)

    All of these rooms (4) lead to my main entertainment center area in my family room. I pull out the cables and they all look like CAT5e cables coming out of the wall (see pics). What type of unit/controller/switch/etc. do I need here that can be used to hook up to my set "B" speakers on my Sony Receiver?

    Any help is much appreciated. I have asked a few of the representatives of the builder and all the women don't have a damn clue! Come on OT, you can help me :x:

    (Picture of wall plate in each room which has 2 speaker wires and what looks like a CAT5 or some type of network cable)
    [​IMG]
    (Picture in entertainment unit of all "CAT5e" cables coming into one main area)
    [​IMG]
     
  2. popsnbeer

    popsnbeer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    nothin' guys?
     
  3. twistid

    twistid Banged By Super Models Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2001
    Messages:
    40,849
    Likes Received:
    112
    Location:
    The Kansass/Oklahomo Border
  4. twistid

    twistid Banged By Super Models Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2001
    Messages:
    40,849
    Likes Received:
    112
    Location:
    The Kansass/Oklahomo Border
  5. popsnbeer

    popsnbeer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
  6. popsnbeer

    popsnbeer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    So I guess this system exists w/o the IR. I will attempt to locate a package like that, without the IR portion.
     
  7. Harry V. Gina

    Harry V. Gina How did your family do in Katrina?

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cheap way:

    Buy something like this - http://www.nilesaudio.com/product.p...D=Speaker Selectors&catcdID=7&prdcdID=FG01043

    Wire nut the speaker wires together at the keypad locations and throw a blank plate over the hole or patch the wall.

    Better:

    Buy 4 of these - http://www.nilesaudio.com/product.p...D=Speaker Selectors&catcdID=7&prdcdID=FG01043

    and be sure to set the impedance jumpers correctly.

    Best:

    Since they ran cat5 you could do something like this:

    http://www.nilesaudio.com/product.p...=Multizone Products&catcdID=2&prdcdID=FG01610
     
  8. kwhitelaw

    kwhitelaw OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Messages:
    22,881
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    virginia
    cant help with your original question, but your house is begging for a Sonos setup..
     
  9. deesee22

    deesee22 Habs Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Messages:
    13,626
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Canada
    Sonos or Nuvo Grand Concerto
     
  10. deesee22

    deesee22 Habs Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Messages:
    13,626
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Canada
    Wait.... So all the speaker wires are terminated at the wall plate in each room?

    That really makes it alot harder because since they arent all homerun to a central location you can't really use any Centralized Multi-room audio amps.
     
  11. benk016

    benk016 O&A Crew

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    That looks more to me like they made it to where each room can have a stereo and hook up to the speakers in the ceiling. And i would assume that the Cat5 cables are meant for Ethernet and just never put a jack on the end in the rooms in case you didn't want it.
     
  12. OniMinion

    OniMinion ...recalls when this forum was actually about cars OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,894
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Indiana/Minnesota
    Wirelessly posted via wap.offtopic.com (Mozilla/5.0 (compatible; Teleca Q7; Brew 3.1.5; U; en) 480X800 LGE VX11000)

    Magnolia Home Theater ay your local Best Buy can hook you up with the splitters and volumn control knobs you need. Consider a RF universal remote to control rooms. It's not cheap.
     
  13. kwhitelaw

    kwhitelaw OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Messages:
    22,881
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    virginia
    from, best buy, yes.

    but online, much cheaper.
     
  14. popsnbeer

    popsnbeer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    Wow, i can't believe this thread is still going! No I have not done this yet :-( A new baby and increase in work has made it difficult to get any house chores done.

    And to answer your question: Yes it looks like they terminate in each room (go from the wall plate to the speakers) and then the cat5 cable should transfer the signal and power to the central hub. I think that's why this thing is so expensive. Each room will essentially have to have its own little amp.
     

Share This Page