Bought a 160gig hard drive but computer can't take it

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by dry3210, Nov 7, 2004.

  1. dry3210

    dry3210 New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hatboro, PA
    Mother board is a Asus P4PE with a P4 2.4g and a gig of ram (not that any of that last stuff matters)

    I bought a 160 gig and in the bios it says it has 160 but when I partition it it only lets me do 137 gigs tops. No matter how I try to split it up, the second part never works.

    Its windows xp pro with all the updates

    any ideas?
     
  2. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Try searching, I'm pretty sure this has been asked before, but I don't remember the answer :dunno:
     
  3. dry3210

    dry3210 New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hatboro, PA
    k thx...I'll take a look
     
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    xp pre-sp1 had that limit.

    install sp2 and it'll be good when you use NTFS.

    FAT32 can't handle it.
     
  5. dry3210

    dry3210 New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hatboro, PA
    Thats what I found out....but I have SP2
     
  6. badguy106

    badguy106 Location:Tn

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Messages:
    809
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can make a second partition with the extra 22 GB of
    space you are missing.

    To do this, right click on My Computer, click Manage, click Disk
    Management. Right click on the Unallocated space, then partition it and
    format it and assign it a drive letter. This will make it appear as two
    hard drives on the system.
     
  7. KoopaTroopa

    KoopaTroopa OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    4,661
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fall River, Mass
    I always thought there would be space never used. My 120 GB reads as 111 GB and my 250 GB reads as 232 GB. I'll have to that second partition thing.
     
  8. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    a 160gb drive should have approximately 150-152gb of usable space.

    137gb is a "known" barrier in the fat32 filesystem.
     
  9. dry3210

    dry3210 New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hatboro, PA
    Yep got that.

    Every time I partition it (and I've tried doing...80 and 80gigs, 100 and 60gigs etc) the first partition will work fine and then the second partition will format all the way to 100% and then give me an error and won't let me access it.

    And I know that you don't get all 160gigs due to drive info or whatever ends up being stored. I have a few things i"m going to try I found out in searching and stuff. We shall see how it goes. I'm backing all my other crap up now.

    thanks guys
     
  10. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    again, you say you "got that" but you never confirm that you're using NTFS. Are you using NTFS?
     
  11. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    my 120GB comes up as 122 :)
     
  12. Apothis

    Apothis New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Messages:
    2,240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Windows sucks for partitioning; I'd barely use it as a last resort. Or at least, I'd take a win98 boot disk + fdisk over xp software. Story time:
    Not long ago, I got an external 120GB. By default, it was FAT32, and that's what I want it to be (I don't fully trust ntfs, and I wanted cross-compatibility). For the hell of it, I did a little early experimentation, tried repartitioning in win xp sp2. It won't make fat partitions that big. Obviously not because it's impossible, it just "wouldn't". OS X didn't have too many more options in this regard than windows and doesn't format for fat, so that was out too. Guess what Western Digital must have used to make it: Linux. I said "make 120GB fat partiton". It say "comin up; want fries with that?" :wiggle:
     
  13. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Yep, should be 152 by my calculations.
     

Share This Page