SRS Boring Weekends are starting to get to me v.rant

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by nost, Jan 26, 2008.

1. nost

nost New Member

im 19 years old, single and im in my 2nd year of college. i live in a house with two other guys and i have a pretty normal life.. the problem is, i dont get out much on weekends and its really depressing me. when i get the chance i love going out to bars/clubs etc. but most of my friends ether live in other cities cos of school, or go home on weekends. Im good friends with my one room mate but he goes home a lot on weekends and our room mate never seems to include us in any goings out anymore.

I really want to get out there and have fun, but without many ppl to do so with...i usally spend my friday and saterday nights either on the couch or infront of my computer. plus im not the kind of guy who can go out to a bar or club by themself and have a good time...so yeah...

not to mention listening to everyone else talk about how good their nights were makes it 10 times worse...

its a long shot...but anyone have any advice to help me outa this situation?

2. chucklenut

chucklenut New Member

first, stop comparing other people's lives to yours.

second, go out by yourself. and force yourself to meet people. once you get past the "fear factor" of talking to people you dont know, meeting people in itself is as fun as having people to chill with.

3. Coottie

Coottie BOOMER......SOONER OT Supporter

:werd:
    This is one of the best ways to become depressed. Why? Because you're looking at their life and seeing that these things are not in your life. Focusing on what you don't have is never a good idea.

Try this, change your focus on what you do have in your life right now. Somethign that helps me is to make a gratitude list. That's a list of all the things that I'm grateful for....even if I'm whining and thinking I don't have anything, there's always something. It sounds kinda goofy but this can really help one get out of the dumps.