Booting to Leopard DLDVD :hs:

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by DatacomGuy, Oct 29, 2007.

  1. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    I finally was able to get my backup copy of Leopard (cdr format through disc utility, burned in toast); but my MBP won't boot to the CD.

    I've tried both holding down C while rebooting, and setting startup properties to boot to CD first.

    Thoughts?
     
  2. NightyNight

    NightyNight OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    7,125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Buy the real thing.
     
  3. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Who said I didn't? :o
     
  4. manchild

    manchild OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    11,506
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago
    burn using disk utility. Won't work if burned in toast.
     
  5. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Won't burn in disk util.. i've gone through 3 dvd's..
     
  6. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    i think when you converted from .dmg to .cdr you stripped the bootable part...
     
  7. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    I'll try again as DMG... Someone told me on here to convert the DMG in disc util..
     
  8. manchild

    manchild OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    11,506
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago
    you dfont't birm the dmg uyou open the dmg into an iso and burn the so to he dcdd


    sooo dr4ubnkkkkkk
     
  9. Pseudonym

    Pseudonym --

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2006
    Messages:
    2,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    :mamoru:
     
  10. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,736
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    i obtained the iso (not the dmg converted to iso, but the real iso) and burnt it on my windows pc with nero
    had to buy a dvd+r DL disc. $8 for 3 discs = not cool
    but i can't complain because i got an operating system for free
     
  11. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    More details?

    [/noob]
     
  12. manchild

    manchild OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    11,506
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago
    Ehh, idk what I did, hold on.

    I'm pretty sure you un-rar the torrent file. That gives you a .dmg file. Then double click the .dmg file to mount it on the desktop (not sure what that gives you, I thought it was an iso).

    Open disk utility. Drag the original .dmg file and the iso file to the window on the right side (iso might automatically show up cause its on the desktop, not sure about the .dmg). If you have a blank dvd in it should have a "burn" button on the top left corner, big and yellow. Make sure you have the ISO selected (not the .dmg) and click burn.

    I think thats right. My backup of leopard is on an external HD that isn't plugged in right now so I can't really check it out. If that doesn't work I'll look into it.
     
  13. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    I don't recall ever seeing an ISO.. but i'll check tonight when I get home.
     
  14. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    or
    open up disk utility
    drag the .dmg file to the left lane under your hard drives
    click burn

    no need to mount
     
  15. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    That's what I did originally; however anytime I burn with disk utility I get medium errors.. :hsd:
     
  16. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,736
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    the actual iso is on demonoid, if you don't want to mess with the dmg. i can confirm that it works
     
  17. manchild

    manchild OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    11,506
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago
    i'm pretty sure you need to mount it, infact i'm 99% positive
     
  18. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Demoniod is still private, isn't it?

    I'll try tonight. I have one DL DVD left :(
     
  19. manchild

    manchild OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    11,506
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago
    oh, well in that case lemme pull out my external and see whats up
     
  20. phr34k

    phr34k New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    8,481
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Athens ,Ga
    hold alt on the reboot.... then itll bring up the boot menu.....select the dvd....profit
     
  21. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Can try that too.
     
  22. _Trev_

    _Trev_ Ya gotta pay the troll toll... OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2004
    Messages:
    47,477
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    I used toast to burn it and it worked fine :dunno:
     
  23. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Find anything? :x:
     
  24. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    See screenshot...

    When its mounted, i can still only burn the dmg in disc util..

    [​IMG]
     
  25. manchild

    manchild OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    11,506
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago
    Then you're doing something wrong, idk what...

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page