Bootcamp problems...

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by zooski, Jul 20, 2007.

  1. zooski

    zooski New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    20,686
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago USA
    Ok, so I'm trying to run boot camp and when it gets to the partitioning part this popped up.

    [​IMG]

    So how exactly do I back up everything?
    Will I lose everything after I format?
    Is this a common problem?
     
  2. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    I think it's because you only have 5 gigs free on the OSX side, I believe you need a minimum of like 10 gigs or something...

    just free up some space (external drive, burn some DVDR's) and try again...
     
  3. zooski

    zooski New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    20,686
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago USA
    I'm moving 40gb of music to my external and downloading iDefrag in hopes that will help. :hs:
     
  4. ryckmonster

    ryckmonster New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah its tough to partition a drive with that much data on it... defragging after taking off a bunch of the data should do the trick.
     
  5. zooski

    zooski New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    20,686
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago USA
    14.5 GB available -> transfer music to external -> 52.2 GB available :rofl:
     
  6. ryckmonster

    ryckmonster New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    0
    lol. nice.
     
  7. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    that might fix the problem :rofl:
     
  8. zooski

    zooski New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    20,686
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago USA
    Ok, well.. after defragging, all I had to do was boot from disk to repair the drive.
    Windows installed rather painlessly except now Windows will run, but the drivers will not install so the internet won't work, etc. Shoot me in the head.
     
  9. zooski

    zooski New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    20,686
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago USA
    I think I might have been using XP SP1 :o
    Burning an SP2 disk now to see if that was the case
     
  10. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    i believe you can only install sp2 with bootcamp.
    did you burn the driver disc that bootcamp makes?
     
  11. zooski

    zooski New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    20,686
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago USA
    Yeah I did and it would crash everytime I tried to install it.
    But turns out I did install SP1 at first :o
    So I reinstalled with SP2 and the driver disc worked fine, posting from XP :wavey:
     
  12. zooski

    zooski New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    20,686
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago USA
    Ok, now I've noticed that if I don't hold alt while it's booting, it will automatically boot up windows.
    Is there any way that I can change this?
     
  13. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    System Pref's > Startup Disk > Change to what you want.
     
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2007
  14. zooski

    zooski New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    20,686
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago USA
    :h5:
    success :wiggle:
     

Share This Page