Bootcamp fubared me. :mad: Anyone know how to fix this?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by diaftia, Mar 11, 2008.

  1. diaftia

    diaftia After I tossed her a half-pint of throat yogurt, I

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    6,386
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NorCal Bay Area
    So this started with dual booting OSX (Leopard) and Vista in bootcamp. I did the standard method of dual booting by going into bootcamp and having it create a partition and then installed Vista. Well, later I tried to allocate more disk space to OSX and all hell broke loose. I ended up getting errors and all of the errors pointed to the fact that I had overlapping partitions. Long story short is the only way to repair this is to wipe the disk clean and start over. I decided to have faith in my backups and backed up Vista with Ghost 14 and OSX with time machine.

    I restored OSX with time machine flawlessly creating a partition in the beginning and restoring it to that. I then went into Ghost using the recovery CD and restored Vista to the empty disk space. Once all was said and done the boot loader would not see OSX. I went into the recovery console and used fdisk to recreate the MBR so OSX could load. Now my problem is I cannot get it to see the Vista install. I want to use the OSX bootx loader. How do I get it to see my Vista OS partition so that it can be chosen when I hold down the alt/option key like before?

    Here is my disk layout:

    fdisk: 1> p
    Disk: /dev/disk0 geometry: 24321/255/63 [390721968 sectors]
    Offset: 0 Signature: 0xAA55
    Starting Ending
    #: id cyl hd sec - cyl hd sec [ start - size]
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    1: EE 1023 254 63 - 1023 254 63 [ 1 - 409639] <Unknown ID>
    *2: AF 1023 254 63 - 1023 254 63 [ 409640 - 200899352] HFS+
    3: 0C 1023 254 63 - 1023 254 63 [ 210774600 - 179945472] Win95 FAT32L
    4: 00 0 0 0 - 0 0 0 [ 0 - 0] unused

    Any suggestions on things to try?
     
  2. babygodzilla

    babygodzilla I love rice

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,108
    Likes Received:
    0
    wow :ugh: this is terrible. i have bootcamp too :noes:
     
  3. diaftia

    diaftia After I tossed her a half-pint of throat yogurt, I

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    6,386
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NorCal Bay Area
  4. fatass

    fatass New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    4,314
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah... i think i won't redo my partitions
     
  5. IcyHot4Life

    IcyHot4Life Str8 Ballin'

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    18,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inquire Within
    :ugh: uh, how the hell did you attempt to do that, and why did you think it would be a good idea


    also, you might be fucking yourself over some more by using fdisk to restore the MBR... intel macs expect a GPT format at the beginning of a disk unless you specifically leveled the drive in MBR format.


    In the future you might have better luck using the programs mentioned in this article to restore your boot camp partition: http://www.tuaw.com/2007/12/22/winclone-backup-your-boot-camp-partition/
     
  6. MSTRBKR

    MSTRBKR New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    7,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cydonia
    Reallocating partitions is always dodgy. I've had some real mares with it in the past.
     
  7. diaftia

    diaftia After I tossed her a half-pint of throat yogurt, I

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    6,386
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NorCal Bay Area

    Both OS's offer partition rezizing native in the OS. Why wouldn't I? :ugh:

    FYI- fdisk does not exist in MS OS's anymore as of Vista. Its only an OSX application ironically now. I rebuilt the MBR with OSX fdisk using the command sudo fdisk -e /dev/rdisk0
     
  8. diaftia

    diaftia After I tossed her a half-pint of throat yogurt, I

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    6,386
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NorCal Bay Area
    Get this... I had to jump through hoops to get this shit to work:

    Assumption: partition 1 = OS X, partition 2 = Vista

    Step 1: make partition 2 the active partition now to boot up Vista.
    Boot with recovery CD and start terminal.
    sudo fdisk -e /dev/rdisk0
    flag 2
    quit
    reboot

    Step 2: Start recovery of MBR on the Vista partition
    Boot with Vista cd into recovery mode and run these commands:
    1. Type BOOTREC /FIXMBR and then press ENTER.
    2. Type BOOTREC /FIXBOOT, and then press ENTER.
    3. Type (boot cd Drive):\boot\Bootsect.exe /NT60 All, and then press ENTER.


    If that does not work do this step. I personally think it was a combination of all these steps that got it to work. I am just letting you know what I did.
    Step 3. rebuild bcd
    1. bcdedit /export C:\BCD_Backup
    2. c:
    3. cd boot
    4. attrib bcd -s -h -r
    5. ren c:\boot\bcd bcd.old
    6. bootrec /RebuildBcd

    It still did not work but at least I got an error now when I tried to load Vista. The error was "BOOTMGR missing. Press any key to reboot" So then I did step 4.

    Step 4. Recover boot sector using 32bit GUID.
    Any place it says GUID use the big output from command 4 in this step.
    1. cdedit -createstore C:\boot\BCD
    2. Bcdedit -store C:\boot\BCD -create {bootmgr} /d "Boot Manager"
    3. Bcdedit -store C:\boot\BCD -set {bootmgr} device boot
    4. Bcdedit -store C:\boot\BCD -create /d "Windows Vista" -application osloader

    Remember the GUID you have received after entering this command. If you click on the top left of the DOS box and select mark in the drop down you can then highlight the GUID string and paste it in each command. Past using a right click.

    make the C: in these commands whatever drive your partition is showing up on. Use diskpart to list out the partitions to see what letter it is.

    5. Bcdedit -store C:\boot\BCD -set GUID osdevice partition=C:
    6. Bcdedit -store C:\boot\BCD -set {bootmgr} default GUID
    7. Bcdedit -store C:\boot\BCD -set GUID device partition=C:
    8. Bcdedit -store C:\boot\BCD -set GUID path \windows\system32\boot\winload.exe
    9. Bcdedit -store C:\boot\BCD -set GUID systemroot \windows

    For the record if any of you get this problem. :run:
     
  9. IcyHot4Life

    IcyHot4Life Str8 Ballin'

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    18,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inquire Within
    it just seems like a really bad idea to let two different OSes modify the partition table. also, while you can dynamically resize partitions on a GPT disk under OS X, there's a reason boot camp won't let you do so after the partition has been created, and I think that's what happened here.

    Anyway, just use WinClone in the future to make sure your boot camp partition is backed up... it's free and it's gotten good reviews :dunno:
     
  10. DouggieJ

    DouggieJ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    8,126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York, NY USA
    I think I had a similar problem, my Windows XP Pro partition worked in VMWare but stopped working in Bootcamp, I ended up having to back up and reinstall Windows.
     
  11. IMAJANATION

    IMAJANATION New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    -----------------------------------
    Try getting Mac OS X to restart in Windows, you can do this by going to Startup Disk, choosing Windows partition and then clicking Restart.
     

Share This Page