Bootable CD's Revisted: Why is Net.EXE attempting to write something?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Scoob_13, Aug 7, 2003.

  1. Scoob_13

    Scoob_13 Anything is possible, but the odds are astronomica

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    73,798
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Fort Worth. Hooray cowgirls.
    I've dedicated the past 3 days to figuring this issue out. I can get it to boot, I can create a virtual drive to copy the entire cd to, I can run it from it, however I cannot get net.exe to run when it attempts to initialize the network.

    For some reason, it works when it's in floppy form just fine, however the floppy cannot be read-only. What does Net.EXE attempt to write to the floppy, and why on earth does it not want to use the virtual drive for it?

    Any old-school admins or dos-guys have any clues about this?


    By the way, I can boot the cd if I transfer the files to the ram drive and run it off of that, however the calls to net.exe to initialize the device and to start the network fail.

    I'm about to call Microsoft to see if they have anyone that can help on this :hs:
     
  2. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Probably a missing .ini file. I just tried my map drive letter ghost boot disk with the read only tab on the floppy opened and it worked flawlessly. So basically if you have the Ghost you can create a disk yourself. If not, but you have the DOS drivers I can make you one. Then it should just be a simple matter of burning a CD of this floppy.
     
  3. Scoob_13

    Scoob_13 Anything is possible, but the odds are astronomica

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    73,798
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Fort Worth. Hooray cowgirls.
    Weird. The first thing that I did was burn one of our working bootable floppies to the cd and it failed on trying to write to the cd.

    I've verified that I have every .INI file that the bootable floppy uses, and I've even verified against file lists on the few sites that I've found that give instructions on making a bootable Ghost cd.

    Don't suppose you could provide me with a list of the files that you have?

    Something funky is going on.
     
  4. jayrod

    jayrod Lurker extraordinaire...

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2001
    Messages:
    2,663
    Likes Received:
    0
    this has happened to me at work before, however, I've always been able to ignore the error and successfully boot :dunno:
     
  5. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Code:
     Volume in drive A has no label.
     Volume Serial Number is 0006-8A51
    
     Directory of A:\
    
    03/12/2001  02:54p              43,773 IBMBIO.COM
    03/12/2001  02:54p              42,550 IBMDOS.COM
    03/12/2001  02:54p              53,541 COMMAND.COM
    03/12/2001  02:54p              37,681 MOUSE.COM
    03/12/2001  02:54p              14,160 HIMEM.SYS
    08/07/2003  06:23p                 194 AUTOEXEC.BAT
    08/07/2003  06:23p                 182 CONFIG.SYS
    08/07/2003  06:23p      <DIR>          NET
                   7 File(s)        192,081 bytes
    
     Directory of A:\NET
    
    08/07/2003  06:23p      <DIR>          .
    08/07/2003  06:23p      <DIR>          ..
    03/12/2001  02:54p              23,852 ELNK3.DOS
    03/12/2001  02:54p              21,696 PROTMAN.DOS
    03/12/2001  02:54p              89,540 NTSTS.DOS
    03/12/2001  02:54p               7,840 DLSHELP.SYS
    03/12/2001  02:54p              13,770 PROTMAN.EXE
    03/12/2001  02:54p              74,016 NET.MSG
    03/12/2001  02:54p             165,580 NETH.MSG
    03/12/2001  02:54p             202,517 CMDS.EXE
    03/12/2001  02:54p               1,539 NETXP.MSG
    03/12/2001  02:54p             354,263 NET.EXE
    08/07/2003  06:24p                 514 PROTOCOL.INI
    08/07/2003  06:24p                 176 NETWORK.INI
                  12 File(s)        955,303 bytes
    
         Total Files Listed:
                  19 File(s)      1,147,384 bytes
                   3 Dir(s)         304,640 bytes free
    
    This is for an EtherLink III card.
     
  6. Scoob_13

    Scoob_13 Anything is possible, but the odds are astronomica

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    73,798
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Fort Worth. Hooray cowgirls.
    Weird. I have those files and even the exact net.exe file (judging by the size). For some reason it's simply not binding to the nic drivers.

    Oh well, methinks it's time to call Dell :p
     
  7. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    I know on my boss's laptop, the NIC drivers aren't good enough, the PCMCIA drivers must also be loaded (which he doesn't have). If the slot isn't active, there's little hope of the NIC activating.
     
  8. Scoob_13

    Scoob_13 Anything is possible, but the odds are astronomica

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    73,798
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Fort Worth. Hooray cowgirls.
    I called Dell and the guy instantly knew what to do. He stated that it's been an issue with the Optiplex workstations. So far it's been fine, although for some reason when the autoexec.bat calls "net start" it attempts to write the DHCP file to the CD, and for some reason states that it can't write it to c:\etc\DHCP, even though I've created a ram drive and copied the cd to it, and I'm calling everything from a bat file located on the ram drive...

    This is just ungodly frustrating.
     
  9. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,626
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
  10. Scoob_13

    Scoob_13 Anything is possible, but the odds are astronomica

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    73,798
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Fort Worth. Hooray cowgirls.
    Basically the final goal is to create a bootable cd to ghost machines, where the image is hosted on a server across the network. The reason we can't use a floppy is because we're removing all floppy drives (and ordering new machines without them) in an odd effort to decrease the amount of confidential information that is leaked out of the company (see as we deal with highly sensitive information).

    I figured it would be straight forward, and so far it's been the biggest pain in the ass since slicing bread with a chainsaw while giving birth to twin kangaroos.

    "Look Lois, I'm Roo!"


    And, I can boot off of my CD, however for some fucked up reason it's still attempting to write the DHCP info to the CD and not the ram drive that I've created. I've brought the machine home to work on this weekend, hopefully I'll get it figured out.
     
  11. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    That's so weird that my boot disk doesn't write anything though - is this a problem with just these machines or do all your computers exhibit this write?
     
  12. Scoob_13

    Scoob_13 Anything is possible, but the odds are astronomica

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    73,798
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Fort Worth. Hooray cowgirls.
    Oddly enough, all of them attempt to do it. I've attempted to use MS-Dos based, however for some reason the machines completely reject it, as opposed to the PC-Dos based, which it'll boot, it just won't initialize the nic correctly. More than likely I'm going to have to call Symantec on Monday and get support from them.

    It's screwed up. I'll probably work on it tomorrow since I'm about to go out for the evening. Care to zip yours up and FTP it to me? :p
     
  13. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Sure - I need your NDIS drivers for the ethernet card. And do you have a floppy available for testing purposes?
     
  14. Joe_Cool

    Joe_Cool Never trust a woman or a government. Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    299,488
    Likes Received:
    615
    Ah, a chance to plug my favorite utility:

    http://www.nu2.nu/bootdisk/modboot/

    Bart's modular boot disk. this fits on a single diskette (there's also files for creating a cd full of utilities with the same functionality). Includes lots of NIC drivers, and gives you full tcp/ip stack in dos -- including ms domain, netbios, and even an ssh client. I've used it for exactly that purpose.

    You can put ghost.exe on the network drive with the image, since it's too big to fit on the disk.
     
  15. inferno8ball

    inferno8ball 190 proof Everclear + MD Amped energy d

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    5,477
    Likes Received:
    0
    ive been trying to do the same thing, with little results. i can get it to boot, but then it hangs during the driver load. i cannot seem to figure this out.

    what ghost program are u using, im working with drive image 2000, or 2002 i cant remeber. im debating trying with drive image 7, if i can find a evaluation copy, then convince the boss to buy it.
     
  16. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Using Norton Ghost for awhile myself - does what I want and I beleive there is a Corporate Edition Trialware for it.

    Oh, and I'm not a big fan of Norton but this utility kicks ass :bigthumb:
     
  17. Scoob_13

    Scoob_13 Anything is possible, but the odds are astronomica

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    73,798
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Fort Worth. Hooray cowgirls.
    Well, my theory that I was doing everything right was confirmed when i compared 5Gen's bootdisk's to mine. They're still attempting to write something to the cd, so I'm thinking that it may be something with the actual NIC drivers themselves.

    I've got 2 other projects to take care of that are high priority (thx. programmers not telling us that they applied SP4 to our servers without our knowledge) and then I'm revisiting this one.
     

Share This Page