Blue screen of death...

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by phoenix1105, Sep 13, 2009.

  1. phoenix1105

    phoenix1105 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I am hoping someone can help me here. My comp keeps giving me the blue screen, dumps the memory, restarts, and pisses me off. It gives me a set of three alphanumeric strings, mostly zeros and ones. The only constant is that it happens while I am playing certain games. Then windows gives me this oh so helpful bit of advice.

    Problem signature:
    Problem Event Name: BlueScreen
    OS Version: 6.0.6001.2.1.0.768.3
    Locale ID: 1033

    Additional information about the problem:
    BCCode: 101
    BCP1: 00000031
    BCP2: 00000000
    BCP3: 88B14120
    BCP4: 00000002
    OS Version: 6_0_6001
    Service Pack: 1_0
    Product: 768_1

    Files that help describe the problem:
    C:\Windows\Minidump\Mini091309-01.dmp
    C:\Windows\Temp\WER-47861-0.sysdata.xml
    C:\Windows\Temp\WERCAC.tmp.version.txt

    Read our privacy statement:
    http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=50163&clcid=0x0409


    My system consists of I've got a Q9450 @2.66Ghz, a board 780i SLI, and a pair of NVidivia 280's.

    I have updated all the drivers for the mobo, vid cards, game, and have no ideas left. Any help or advice would really help.
     
  2. phoenix1105

    phoenix1105 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    0
    where would I look for that at, or is it a file?
     
  3. Hate Crime

    Hate Crime Don't Hate OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Power supply?
     
  4. phoenix1105

    phoenix1105 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    0
    nevermind, found the bastard. Lets hope it works :)
     
  5. phoenix1105

    phoenix1105 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    0
    no dice. I got rid of that update, and still have the blue screen....
     
  6. Homeless

    Homeless New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Messages:
    975
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    can you post the entire bsod?
     
  7. DigiCrime

    DigiCrime If Only!

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    32,996
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    St. Louis
    had any nvidia updates lately from microsoft?
     
  8. Hate Crime

    Hate Crime Don't Hate OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Certain games makes me think overheating/power issue..
     
  9. SeeVinceRun

    SeeVinceRun Currently In Prison OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    This. But lots of times if it overheats it just flat out turns off, no BSOD.

    Or an issue with the 280s in SLI in certain games.
     
  10. phoenix1105

    phoenix1105 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    0
    I will try and find my digi cam to get a pic for mre ideas...
     
  11. Hate Crime

    Hate Crime Don't Hate OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    What power supply are you using?
     
  12. DigiCrime

    DigiCrime If Only!

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    32,996
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    St. Louis
    Just curious because I got one I think Saturday and mines been blue screening a lot now. Havent had time to fix it yet
     
  13. phoenix1105

    phoenix1105 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    0
    The PSU is an OCZ 850watt. I think the problem is the mobo though. I took my PSU, vid cards, cpu, and heatsink and transplanted them into a friends computer... no problems. I put my rig back together and ran the game. Within 10 min I had the blue screen.

    So right now I am thinking of just replacing the mobo and upgrading to the new i5 or i7 platform. Can anyone find me a deal of a mobo, cpu, and some memory for ~500 shipped and everything? I don't get my setlement from my accident till Nov, so I dont have a lot of extra cash. If I can get a decent mobo and cpu now, and get large supply of memory later I would be happy. Otherwise I am going to have to find some other games to play on my shitty laptop.
     
  14. phoenix1105

    phoenix1105 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    0
    here is the blue screen of death [​IMG]
     
  15. phoenix1105

    phoenix1105 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    0
    it is a little big... sorry
     
  16. DigiCrime

    DigiCrime If Only!

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    32,996
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    St. Louis
    What's that stress program that maxes out your cpu ? grr can't think of it but if Icould would say run it and see if you get a BSoD
     
  17. Hate Crime

    Hate Crime Don't Hate OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    There are a few.. could run Prime95
     
  18. DigiCrime

    DigiCrime If Only!

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    32,996
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    St. Louis
    prime95 is it, that'll stress your puter :cool:
     
  19. phoenix1105

    phoenix1105 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    0
    i will find and run that program...what is it suppose to do?
     
  20. SeeVinceRun

    SeeVinceRun Currently In Prison OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    Prime95 stresses two things, it can be set to stress only the CPU or the CPU and RAM.

    It can also be ran as a indicator to how stable your overclock is, if you are doing that and how well your cooling solution works. Very few things stress as well as Prime95.
     
  21. phoenix1105

    phoenix1105 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I am not overclocking at all...

    I did notice one interesting thing though, when I opened up the case and switched the two RAM sticks I have to the other sockets, the game was stable for several hours before it started giving me the BSOD again. So switching where the RAM is somehow stops the problem for five or six hours...Very strange.
     
  22. phoenix1105

    phoenix1105 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ive been searching the net for what could be wrong, and it seems the program that gives me the bsod uses a ton of resources. I have decent hardware so it shouldnt be a problem, BUT I am suspect of my RAM. If something is screwed up with my RAM, would that account for the BSOD?

    Thanks for all the help people!
     
  23. SeeVinceRun

    SeeVinceRun Currently In Prison OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    yes, that would do it.

    again, prime95 can stress your ram and see if its wonky.
     
  24. phoenix1105

    phoenix1105 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am almost 100% sure it is the RAM. Prime 95 caused the CPU to run for qquite a bit, but the RAM crapped out.
     

Share This Page