Blue screen of death...

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Bear Klaw, Jun 4, 2007.

  1. Bear Klaw

    Bear Klaw Guest

    I installed AOE 2 and some expansion pack yesterday. When i reboot my pc now. Right after the windows screen, i get a blue screen and my system reboots. The screen comes up so quick, i can't make out one letter of it before my system reboots.. I can not boot in safe mode, or last known config either with out getting this blue screen. It happens so fast i can not read the error either... WTF do i do?
     
  2. Bear Klaw

    Bear Klaw Guest

  3. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    It would help to know some basics about your system.

    Cpu, graphics card, motherboard, psu, etc...

    But you could try to clear your cmos.
     
  4. Bear Klaw

    Bear Klaw Guest

    why would that matter? this pc has been running for years with no issues.

    I install age of empires 2. reboot, and am ment with a bsod
     
  5. KungFool7

    KungFool7 keep driving—it's getting earlier

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry if this is a silly question...but did the game come from a CD case in your closet or did you happen across it somewhere else...like...the internet?
     
  6. Bear Klaw

    Bear Klaw Guest

    internet :noes:
     
  7. Bear Klaw

    Bear Klaw Guest

    a well seeded torrent. I doubt it would be seeded if it was something bad..



    i installed the same torrent(i think) in my laptop with no issues. Though it could have been another torrent
     
  8. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
  9. Slid.

    Slid. I'm a guy.

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    1,928
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NH
    just use the windows xp cd that came with your computer :mamoru: and run a repair install (don't choose the first repair console option, you want the second one) -- it'll install over the current windows installation and maintain as many settings as it can while making your computer bootable again.
     
  10. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio

    Because if it's an old ass system then it could be falling apart.

    And because if it's a torrent it could fuck your system up.

    You can't expect to get help with a computer issue without us knowing those sorts of details.
     
  11. Bear Klaw

    Bear Klaw Guest

    not that old. I planned on building a new one, now i have been using my shitty laptop. even the more reason to build one soon
     
  12. Bear Klaw

    Bear Klaw Guest

    is there a way i can freeze the bsod to see what the error message says?
     
  13. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Will it boot into safe mode?
     
  14. Bear Klaw

    Bear Klaw Guest

    nope, tried every option, still get the bsod
     
  15. Bear Klaw

    Bear Klaw Guest

    i geuss doing a repair with the windows cd si my only option
     
  16. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    I think it's your best option.

    Make sure you choose repair, and not recovery counsel.

    It can easily be confused once you pop in the cd.
     
  17. Bear Klaw

    Bear Klaw Guest

    thanks for your input. i will let ya know how it works out once i try this option
     
  18. AO

    AO New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    4,750
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    wyd
    If you are running XP and you try to install a W95 game (AOE 2), it may blow up the sys because it is trying to load W95 drivers into autoexec.bat and config.sys (if not re-writing the boot block).

    If you can get into F8 and a cmd prompt, you may want to see if autoexec.bat and config.sys have been modified. You may need to just delete them. Running the FIXBOOT coomand from the recovery console command prompt may fix the problem.
     
  19. Bear Klaw

    Bear Klaw Guest

    great idea, i will try this
     

Share This Page