blue screen of death

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Big'Un, Apr 10, 2005.

  1. Big'Un

    Big'Un "Just once i would like to dine at an American pin

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,080
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Yuma, Az
    i installed and was playing Leisure suit larry on my laptop. My computer meets all the minimums with no problem but when im playing i get the blue screen and it tells me theres some kind of error and refers to the file

    ati3d1.dll

    then it dumps the memory and reboots

    i even tried using a lower screen resolution thinking that would help but no. what should i try?
     
  2. ProFX

    ProFX New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne, AU.
    Double check you have all the latest system updates, latest ATI video drivers, and game patches.

    Updated video drivers often contain game-specific fixes for issues like the one you encountered.
     
  3. Big'Un

    Big'Un "Just once i would like to dine at an American pin

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,080
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Yuma, Az
    Where should i look to get appropriate updates?
     
  4. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,508
    Likes Received:
    316
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    www.ati.com
     
  5. ProFX

    ProFX New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne, AU.
    System updates: http://windowsupdate.microsoft.com
    Video driver updates: http://www.ati.com navigate to driver downloads. (nb: this is a reference driver package only. If you are using special features that your notebook may have added in themselves you should get the latest package from their website instead)
    LSL updates from the website of whoever makes it!
     
  6. Big'Un

    Big'Un "Just once i would like to dine at an American pin

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,080
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Yuma, Az
    so i did a windows update thing and also went to compaq and did some sort of driver upgrade and now when i play the characters are all fucked up....like the rest of the game is fine but the characters are all scrambled
     
  7. ProFX

    ProFX New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne, AU.
    There is something seriously wrong with your box or your software. Windows update and supported driver upgrades are 'safe' and should not cause that.

    Tried game updates?
     
  8. Big'Un

    Big'Un "Just once i would like to dine at an American pin

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,080
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Yuma, Az
    i think i might have got the wrong driver from compaq, which is silly because i got a product specific download page for my notebook...anyway, did some more searching and dl'd the ATI update and the game seems to be running fine...time will tell but i played for like 45 min with no problems. Thanks for the help
     
  9. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,508
    Likes Received:
    316
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    Reason #4586381 why Compaq sucks.
     

Share This Page