Blackberry email question

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Maffy29, May 21, 2008.

  1. Maffy29

    Maffy29 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    7,799
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    So I set up my Gmail on my Blackberry Curve through the email setup on the phone. Works great, but whenever I send an email, it sends me a copy of the message I sent. Kind of like I CC'd myself. Any way to turn that off?
     
  2. ZeKs

    ZeKs OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    4,844
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    go to BIS site, go to filters then in the apply filter when "from" field in the contains part put ur email

    oh yeah check the box that says do not forward to device
     
  3. Maffy29

    Maffy29 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    7,799
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Got it, thank you!
     
  4. Enthos

    Enthos OT's Resident Who Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    5,662
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arkansas
    download the gmail app.

    thats what i have. go to google.com on your blackberry, and download the gmail app.
     
  5. The R-ruh

    The R-ruh OhMyWhat?!?!

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    3,708
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does this put an icon on the startup screen? Also, are you able to access all of your contacts stored on the gmail server? How about old emails?

    Thx.
     
  6. ZeKs

    ZeKs OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    4,844
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Yea it does put a gmail icon on the startup screen, but thats not push email i believe, but if you dont need that then cool.
     
  7. Bagsic

    Bagsic New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,798
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    bay area
    more exact details on this? sorry n00b :wtc:
     
  8. ZeKs

    ZeKs OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    4,844
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    http://na.blackberry.com/eng/support/software/internet.jsp

    At the botton of the page, click on your service provider.

    Once you log in, you see this

    [​IMG]

    Click on the filters button on the right for you email account. Click on add filters link and it'll take you to a page that looks like this

    [​IMG]

    just copy my settings, only add your email address in the "contains:" field.

    Don't forget to check the bubble at the bottom that say "do not forward to my device"
     
  9. Bagsic

    Bagsic New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,798
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    bay area
    when i try to create an account, it says that my account can't be accessed in this manner and that i should use my device. when i use my bb it says that it can't be accessed in this manner... wtf?

    i have an 8830, Verizon Wireless.
     
  10. ZeKs

    ZeKs OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    4,844
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Does it ask you for your device pin and esn?
     
  11. Bagsic

    Bagsic New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,798
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    bay area
    when i'm using browser yes. then i get the use your device message. when i use my bb it just doesnt work.
     
  12. ZeKs

    ZeKs OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    4,844
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    That is odd, I don't have verizon maybe it's different but im not sure.
     
  13. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    problem highlighted.

    I am amazed at the number of people that drink the verizon cool-aid. Their network is not as good as Sprint, their customer service is more like be-a-dick-to-the-customer, and their prices are recockulous.

    Honestly, ditch the shitty carrier. Get a better network, with all the benefits of CDMA/EVDO (and consistant 1.9GHz coverage), and much better pricing by going with Sprint. Yeah their customer service sucks. But at least you get a great network and great pricing.
     
  14. Supaboom

    Supaboom everyday i'm hustlin

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2000
    Messages:
    44,933
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    thats funny, their CS has been awesome everytime I called with any issues. The last thing I called about was adding a text plan, my bill was already ridiculous so I wanted to make a change for next month. The dude hooked me up, and backfilled my last months texts which saved me about 15 bucks.

    Also your area might not be great for verizon, but I challange you to say that around the DC/Metro area. I've had sprint before and it was aweful. Nothing worse than losing service just going into a building for class.
     
  15. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    in general, Sprint coverage > Verizon coverage.
     
  16. mojito

    mojito New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    62,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    :rofl::ugh::rofl:

    is there anything you're not a fucking idiot about? and no, I'm not on verizon.
     
  17. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    :hsugh:

    cost: Verizon is more expensive. definitely. Sprint SERO. Need I say more?

    network: both cdma and evdo. Verizon has 850MHz and 1.9GHz mixed network. Sprint is 1.9GHz exclusive. Benefit: Sprint. Theoretically, Sprint will roam on verizon in areas that Sprint doesn't have coverage, but I personally haven't found that area, yet. I have had to roam on USCC and other niche carriers in remote rural areas, however. Sprint roaming is excellent.

    Coverage scenarios:
    Verizon 850MHz, Sprint 1.9GHz == Sprint win
    Verizon 1.9GHz, Sprint 1.9GHz == Tie
    Verizon 850MHz, Sprint roam == Tie
    Verizon 1.9GHz, Sprint roam == Tie
    Verizon roam, Sprint 1.9GHz == Tie


    customer service: both are shitty.


    So there you have it. Customer service is equally bad. The network with Sprint I think is better (and science agrees with me) Also note that Sprint consistently tests faster EVDO speeds than Verizon. But for sake of arugment let's say the networks are equal. It all comes down to cost. And I can get the same stuff (actually a bit more since the M2M is more useful for me with Sprint (more people I know have sprint) and the N&W start earlier... But again we'll just say "equal" features. I can get it for much less with Sprint than with Verizon.
     
  18. The R-ruh

    The R-ruh OhMyWhat?!?!

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    3,708
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone know how to set up the the blackberry with gmail so that if I read a message on my computer, it shows as read on my BB, and the other way around as well? I don't like reading a message on my BB and then logging into gmail on my computer and see the message as new still.
     
  19. Zak8022

    Zak8022 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Messages:
    4,012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    I think the gmail app would do this, but i don't know for sure, since i don't use it.
     
  20. mojito

    mojito New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    62,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    I love it when people make their opinion fact :rofl:
     
  21. mojito

    mojito New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    62,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    IMAP
     
  22. GlocksRock

    GlocksRock Glock > You

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    6,647
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    I'm glad I found this thread, I was having the same issue with my pearl and gmail, I hate getting a copy of the email I just sent.
     
  23. mojito

    mojito New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    62,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    thats an easy one too. log into your email setup, create a filter with "From" and type your email, and select do not deliver to device"
     
  24. The R-ruh

    The R-ruh OhMyWhat?!?!

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    3,708
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK tried this out and it slows down mail delivery to a crawl. Eff it I'm going back to POP which has instantaneous mail delivery and I'll reconcile that ish manually.
     

Share This Page