Bit Torrents not downloading fast, possible firewall issue

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by terminator1010, Oct 19, 2005.

  1. terminator1010

    terminator1010 Eld

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    4,891
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hordanes Land
    Just got this new router, now bit torrent downloads go super slow (10kb/sec) It says i might be behind a firewall, but I turned off the XP one, and didn't set one up for the router. How to I find out what ports if any are blocked? What could be causing this? BTW router is D-link di-624.
     
  2. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
  3. Zak8022

    Zak8022 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Messages:
    4,012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    it doenst really matter what ports you chose, as long as you tell your router, and whatever torrent program you are using to use the same port range.

    definatley read the FAQ DatacomGuy posted... it should help alot.
     
  4. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    It also depends on the sites you are downloading from and what BT client you use.

    Some sites have ports 6881-6999 blacklisted, so you can''t use them. Also clients like Azureus (which I recommend) only uses one port, not a range, so setup your router accordingly.

    If you are using the XP firewall, just add your BT client to the firewalls exclusion list and it will automatically allow use of of the ports it needs.
     
  5. Zak8022

    Zak8022 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Messages:
    4,012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    yea... that too. i dont use those ports.. cuz of the blacklists cmsurfer mentioned. i picked some random ass port numbers.
     
  6. terminator1010

    terminator1010 Eld

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    4,891
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hordanes Land
    I can't seem to get to the router settings page, it says go to http://192.168.0.1 and login using "admin" for username and password blank, i tried that but it won't log in. Any ideas?
     
  7. hulk hogan

    hulk hogan Guest

    The password should be "admin"
     
  8. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    +1 for Azureus...
     
  9. Zak8022

    Zak8022 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Messages:
    4,012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    what kinda router is it? i mean brand?

    for my torrents i use ABC... but i've heard that Azureus is better now with some of its more recent updates. i used it a while back and just could not get it to work correctly. i've also used Shadow's Experimental, which worked well, but cluttered the fuck outta my screen/comp when i had a few things going at once.
     
  10. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Just a FYI, I did some work on my GF's sisters' computer and she had a D-Link router. I was also not able to log into it at all... It turns out that I didn't need to, but just wanted to put that out there.
     
  11. terminator1010

    terminator1010 Eld

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    4,891
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hordanes Land
    Tried it, didn't work
     
  12. terminator1010

    terminator1010 Eld

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    4,891
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hordanes Land
    Look at my original post: D-link Di-624
     
  13. 4W4K3

    4W4K3 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    5,108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    TX
    Question : If I don't have access to my router is there ANYTHING i can do to open ports, or speed up bittorrent? ANYTHING? My dad's got control of router/network and doesn't allow bittorrent, but I can still get stuff of course, just would like it to be faster.
     
  14. Zak8022

    Zak8022 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Messages:
    4,012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    :doh: :uh: my bad. D-link is one i havent messed with yet. do you remember ever changing the password? i know that on my old linksys i didnt even need a username. i left the username blank and just entered a password. did you try that?
     
  15. krondo

    krondo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manhizzle KS
    someone else might've changed it that has access to your router
     
  16. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Have you tried to call D-Link tech support?
     
  17. terminator1010

    terminator1010 Eld

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    4,891
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hordanes Land
    Doh, my brother had changed the password. So I got into the settings and it turns out that ports 6881-6888 are allowed through the firewall. And I configured my bt client to use that range, but i'm still getting shitty speeds.
     
  18. Little Spunky $#!T

    Little Spunky $#!T :cool:

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2001
    Messages:
    3,539
    Likes Received:
    0
    The username needs to be left blank when you log in and just have the password read "admin"
     
  19. terminator1010

    terminator1010 Eld

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    4,891
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hordanes Land
    I tweaked some more settings, now getting around 40kb/sec when i was getting 10kb/sec before (same torrent). Still not great but a little bit faster.
     
  20. Zak8022

    Zak8022 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Messages:
    4,012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    well... one thing i would say is not to base wether things are working on one torrent. at least, not necessarily. i've had torrents where i should get awesome speeds crap out on me and take forever.

    if its a torrent with a large peer pool tho(over a couple of hundred peers), you should easily be able to pull down 100+ kbps. shit, i've hit 500+ on extremely rare occasions.

    basically, dont base everything off of that one torrent. try another that is very popular (even if its something you dont want) just to test it out.
     
  21. mondaynightmike

    mondaynightmike New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    117,672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    DEFINITELY No *Unlinked* Cock Pics
    Depends some torrents download at like 40 for me.

    where as others like form supertorrents or empornium download at 300-400.

    depends on the torrent
     
  22. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Look for a program called BT Engine. I use it when I download and it can usually double my download speeds.
     

Share This Page