SRS Bipolar spouse?

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by deadmeat, Dec 30, 2009.

1. deadmeat

deadmeat Active Member

I think my wife is bipolar, perhaps slightly prior to having our twins but it seems much more so now.

I threatened divorce last year because of her behavior, and decided to postpone my final judgment for a while once it occurred to me what the problem could be.

SHe's on Cymbalta 60 and an anti-anxiety that she uses to be able to get to sleep. It's become a problem because she got lazy and hasn't had the antianxiety in a month or so.

How can I approach her getting looked at/treated for this?

I don't want to get divorced, I love my wife and kids, it's just that I don't really like her when she's on an extreme. It's either a bummer or really hard to keep up with - and it's never predictable.

I just really want my life back.

EDIT. Hell of a typo, I was trying to say I want my WIFE back.

2. djshotglass

djshotglass New Member

I'm no doctor, but I say take her off the meds and see what happens. My ex gf was also on an SNRI and she claimed it helped but from my perspective it made her worse. It was like she was having withdrawals from her medications. There were good and bad days.

She'll probably be worse at first as she withdraws from the meds but once she gets over the hump you may see an improvement. I'm a huge believer in finding the cause of the depression and not just trying to throw medications at it to relieve the symptoms.

3. djshotglass

djshotglass New Member

Also I should add that two weeks ago we broke up because of her unstable mood. She attacked me, I hit her back, and I ended up in jail. I now have a court date. I hope your situation works out better than mine :hs:

Another thing - while anti anxiety drugs are nice for getting to sleep - they can have some bad side effects long term. I'm a big fan of diphenhydramine (benadryl) if I need something to help me sleep.

4. Genghis.Tron

Genghis.Tron New Member