bios problems.

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by lowfat, Feb 24, 2004.

  1. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    First problem is that I can't enter my bios anymore. And my second problem is that my computer won't restart/shut down anymore without the aid of the power button. Is my computer dying? or is there anyway to fix this?
     
  2. MP

    MP New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    34,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    hit a buncha buttons as it starts up.

    one of them is sure to do the trick :big grin:
     
  3. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    The usual keys needed to enter the BIOS are the delete key or F2. I have also seen other ones. If you happen to get a splash screen when the machine starts, and can read the POST hit the esc key and it will tell on the screen what key to press to enter setup.

    For the shutting down problem, go into the power options program in your control panel, Click the APM tab, and check to select the Enable Advanced Power Management Support check box, and then click OK.

    HTH.

    CM.
     
  4. ziggie216

    ziggie216 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2001
    Messages:
    29,850
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco
    what does it display on the screen when u boot up?
     
  5. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    On the screen either above the RAM check or on the bottom it will say something like Press [F2] to enter setup.

    CM.
     
  6. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    k. i was able to get into the bios.

    but the shut down problem still remains. when i shut down the computer it goes through all the shut down, and then freezes @ the very end. i click the power button, and it will finish the shut down. I find it really annoying though. I just reformatted so i don't think its a windows problem. and i dont have Advanced Power Management tab, or anything to about that in all of the Power Options.
     
  7. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Let me guess, Win9x or ME?
     
  8. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    What OS are you running? Depending on that, there may be some kind of patch on the MS knowledge base. Take a look and let us know.

    HTH.
     
  9. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    actually its XP PRO.
     
  10. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    and where is this MS knowledge base?
     
  11. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA

Share This Page