BIOS or Hard drive problem v.help

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by tokyonights, Aug 18, 2006.

  1. tokyonights

    tokyonights Believe in me, who believes in you OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    10,146
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Chicago
    So everytime I try to get into the BIOS it freezes up. but if I disconnect the sata hard drive I can get in. Once I'm in the BIOS I reconnect the drive and exit out of the BIOS. I can boot windows xp from the disc but the drive doesn't show up. I think it's the drive but is there any other way I can be sure?
     
  2. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    What are you connecting your SATA hard drive to? Is it an onboard controller or an add-on controller?
     
  3. tokyonights

    tokyonights Believe in me, who believes in you OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    10,146
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Chicago
    directly to the motherboard
     
  4. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can boot Windows XP from the disc...do you mean the install CD? If so, you'd need to put the drivers for your motherboard's SATA controller onto a floppy disk, so you can give them to the Windows Installer when it asks for drivers.
     
  5. tokyonights

    tokyonights Believe in me, who believes in you OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    10,146
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Chicago
    no
     
  6. tokyonights

    tokyonights Believe in me, who believes in you OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    10,146
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Chicago
    yes I meant the installCD. I don't have a floppy drive but I do have a sd card reader. Can I load the drivers that way?

    edit :o
     
  7. tokyonights

    tokyonights Believe in me, who believes in you OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    10,146
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Chicago
    I just installed the sata drive onto another working computer and I got the same issue.....I almost sure it's the hard drive
     
  8. crontab

    crontab (uid = 0)

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2000
    Messages:
    23,446
    Likes Received:
    12
    You are correct. RMA, return, exchange, etc.
     
  9. Slid.

    Slid. I'm a guy.

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    1,928
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NH
    Sounds like either your SATA controller is bad or your power supply can't handle the extra load from the added hard drive. Try unplugged all of your other devices (other hds, cdrom) except for the SATA drive and try to get into BIOS. If you can then your PSU is a wimp, otherwise you probably need to replace your motherboard -or- get a PCI sata controller.
     
  10. Slid.

    Slid. I'm a guy.

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    1,928
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NH
    I lose.
     

Share This Page