BigFix on emachine's desktop

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by pyl85, May 15, 2007.

  1. pyl85

    pyl85 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    So my dad went behind my back and bought himself a bargain-basement clearance emachine. It's not gonna set the world on fire, but I guess it's adequate for what he and my mom need it for.

    After clearing off all the preinstalled crap, I can't bring myself to uninstall one program, BigFix. Supposedly it will alert us of updates specific for this model emachine. It's a commercial program, so I'm thinking it might be good for something, but I bet it's redundant and just slowing everything down.

    Anyone had experience with BigFix? Are there any redeeming qualities?
     
  2. ososlow

    ososlow OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,747
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    It came on my Gateway too. I uninstalled it before I even took the time to learn what it was.
    I think I even deleted it before I made my restore disks, so I will never see it again. :mamoru:

    I think Windows Update should be sufficient enough. Just check for driver updates yourself occasionally. (if that's what it does) I guess I should read up on stuff before I delete it. :o
     
  3. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    delete it.
     
  4. Kieffer87

    Kieffer87 Orly OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Where the Green Grass Grows
    Just delete and make sure auto updates for windows is on. I know the dell and hp auto updater never find any updates. Well atleast from what Ive experienced.
     
  5. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Make sure the updates are set to automatically download without asking first -- people are a lot more likely to install updates if they're already downloaded and waiting for them.
     
  6. pyl85

    pyl85 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, I don't think it's found anything to update either. I'll get rid of it and hopefully system performance will improve. When the XP desktop appears, it still takes a good 2-3 minutes before you can actually do anything. I'm thinking that Norton Internet Security/Anti-Virus,that the salespeople at CompUSA suckered my dad into buying, is what makes it take so long.
     
  7. elevator

    elevator The tenants think it's wonderful! ヽ(´ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    10,967
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    the hamster inside the emachine already needs to be replaced.
     
  8. FormulaLS1

    FormulaLS1 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    0
    Emachine huh...Hope the power supply doesn't do a number on the computer...I have seen ton of these where the powersupply goes south and takes out the mobo.

    Ditch BigFix worthless....just use windows updates.
     
  9. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    The only antivirus anyone needs is Symantec Antivirus Corporate Edition. Some people choose equivalent free products, but this one comes with a warranty and a support staff.

    Norton Internet Security gives other Norton products a bad name. It takes over everything in the guise of protecting you from bad shit online. It's like Jesus promising to save you from eternal death, and then you find out Jesus was just a hallucination caused by your brain tumor.
     
  10. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    considering that some of those "free" products out-perform Symantic corp and catch viruses that symantic misses, I'll stick with my "free" products.
     
  11. Kieffer87

    Kieffer87 Orly OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Where the Green Grass Grows
    Yea id say ditch symantec and go with avg free. Its lightweight and free.
     
  12. Hate Crime

    Hate Crime Don't Hate OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    :werd:

    Motherboards in general that Emachines uses are shit.
     
  13. pyl85

    pyl85 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, he paid for a year of NAV, so we might as well use it. I should see if I can scare up some RAM. XP's gotta be chokin' on 512 MB (-128 for onboard video, of course...)
     
  14. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    128mb tied up in onboard video is flat-out recockulous. Tone it down.


    I don't care if he paid for norton. DO NOT USE IT.
     
  15. 1999TL

    1999TL New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    484
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lubbock, TX
    I've never had a problem with norton. Free for life-corporate edition.
     
  16. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bingo.

    pyl85: If you paid for a year of severe beatings not knowing what they were, would you endure those beatings just so your money wouldn't be wasted? NIS is garbage and it will frustrate the hell out of you. If you don't want to remove it, at least disable it.
     

Share This Page