Best way to transfer files to new Mac from old?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Jackhole, Sep 13, 2007.

  1. Jackhole

    Jackhole New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    69,137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Just bought a Mac Mini to replace my ancient G4/400. Best way to transfer my music/documents/settings/applications to the new Mac?
     
  2. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    if the G4 has firewire then
    1) shut down G4
    2) plug a 6 pin to 6 pin firewire cable between them
    3) press and hold down the T button on the keyboard attached to the G4 while pressing and releasing the power button
    4) on the Mac Mini the G4 should show up on the desktop as an external harddrive.
    5) copy what you need over

    chances are you'll want to reinstall the applications though. going from PPC apps to Universal apps makes a differences in speed.
     
  3. fuzion1029

    fuzion1029 New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    another great reason why mac's r0x0rz ur s0x0rz
     
  4. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    Yeah it was very smooth going from a macbook to an imac. setup the transfer, went for breakfast, came back and my work imac was ready to rock.
     
  5. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    :wtc:
     
  6. Jackhole

    Jackhole New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    69,137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale, FL
    :bowdown: Where can I get the FireWire cable around here? There's really no Mac-specific stores around here, I usually have to order my shit online.

    Best Buy?
     
  7. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    it's a firewire cable, nothing mac specific. any places that sells computers/video camera/harddrives should have cables...
     
  8. Jackhole

    Jackhole New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    69,137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale, FL
    I know that, I'm just wondering what type of place is most likely to carry one, I don't live in a very big town.
     
  9. Jackhole

    Jackhole New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    69,137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale, FL
    I have an AirPort network set up in the house, all I use it for right now is Internet and AirTunes. Any chance I could use that to share files?
     
  10. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    sure, but it'll be tons slower...
     
  11. Jackhole

    Jackhole New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    69,137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Yeah, I'll just get a cable from Best Buy and return it. :rofl:
     
  12. Jackhole

    Jackhole New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    69,137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale, FL
    OK, apparently Target Disk Mode isn't supported on my old G4. It's only supported on the G4s with AGP graphics and mine is the earlier PCI one.

    How can I do this now? I have a lot of shit on that old computer... :sad2:
     
  13. skolen

    skolen Guest

    Place the old Mac on top of the new one and it will transfer itself through osmosis.
     
  14. Jackhole

    Jackhole New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    69,137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale, FL
    :asshole:
     
  15. Jackhole

    Jackhole New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    69,137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale, FL
    I'm a fucking idiot, I totally forgot that you can use the iPod like a hard disk. I formatted that bitch and now have a 20 GB portable drive. It's taking a little while to move files around, but 2 moves should move all my files over. :uh:
     
  16. nsxrebel

    nsxrebel New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,272
    Likes Received:
    0
    that's why I love Apple! I was gonna say that as a last resort, you could burn DVD's backed up with your data.
     
  17. alverino03

    alverino03 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2001
    Messages:
    4,898
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    bay area
    You could have booted the Mac Mini in target disk mode and transfered the data to the Mini
     
  18. Jackhole

    Jackhole New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    69,137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale, FL
    No I couldn't have. Read, then post.
     
  19. alverino03

    alverino03 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2001
    Messages:
    4,898
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    bay area

    Maybe I misunderstood what you were trying to say. If you boot the Mini in target disk mode, you can't see it on the G4?
     
  20. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    no, you read the post...
    do what i said in the opposite mode. so instead of your G4 being in target mode, your Mini would be in target mode instead, and from your G4 you'll copy the files to the Mini.
     
  21. Gordio

    Gordio New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    ^ I'm with stupid

    The mini is strange because you have to hold T while the firewire is NOT plugged in. This is the strnagest thing ever; it's only for the mini. I found out through desperation. Usually I would initate on my powerbook, but one time i had to initate on my mini and I had to go desperately google for it.
     
  22. alverino03

    alverino03 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2001
    Messages:
    4,898
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    bay area


    Exactly. :hsugh:
     

Share This Page