Best way to transfer data from desktop to Laptop

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by ffxhub, Feb 2, 2004.

  1. ffxhub

    ffxhub OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Leesburg, VA
    I got a work laptop that I want to use to burn some shit off my desktop. (Burner Died a few weeks ago in desktop) What would be the fastest way for data transfer? Do they make a USB cable that could do it or should I just setup a network and connect them to eachother with a network cord? Thanks guys!!
     
  2. shastaisforwinners

    shastaisforwinners OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,820
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Paramore
    crossover cable
     
  3. ffxhub

    ffxhub OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Leesburg, VA
    Forgive my dumbass, but what is the difference between a crossover cable and a network cable? Same thing with a diffferent name or what?
     
  4. chad2261

    chad2261 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    4,603
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    good timing, I'm having the same problem. I've been going along with all of the XP wizards that are supposed to do this but nothing seems to work. I was just running a network cable from the laptop to the desktop but every time I try to connect from the laptop it'd get all the way to the verifying username/password screen and then it'd just stop. Eventually a message would come up about the host computer, in this case the desktop, not responding...

    could it be that I need one of these crossover cables instead of just network cable? I'm a networking idiot so try to overlook any stupidity this post might include.
     
  5. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    A crossover cable crosses over the pinouts of the transmit and receive pins. An easy way to tell if you have a crossover cable is that the order of the colored wires on either end are NOT the same. A normal patch cable will have an identical order.
     
  6. ffxhub

    ffxhub OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Leesburg, VA
    I see, so basically a cross-over cable and a network cable is not the same thing. So I guess the only other option to buying a cross-over cable is to just get a mini hub and create a network with 2 computers.
     
  7. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    i use my router. set up a network. works fine.
     
  8. Wolf68k

    Wolf68k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    4,861
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    I think he got a little too techie with explaining the difference between the 2 cables.

    A cross-over cable is mainly used for connecting 2 computers head-to-head with no hub, or switch, in between.

    With a normal/straight cable you need a hub/switch/router in between the 2 machines for the network to work.

    You can get a special USB cable that is made for connecting 2 computers head-to-head.
    http://www.lpt.com/Shop/shop.asp#NetLinQ
    I think Belkin makes one too, couldn't find it the site is acting really slow right now.
     

Share This Page