Best way to learn C++?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by ZeeMox, Oct 15, 2003.

1. ZeeMox

ZeeMox Opinions are like assholes. Fuck em. OT Supporter

Now when I say "learn" I mean actually know the language, how it works, etc. In other words, the kind of quality you would find in a class (minus, of course, an instructor).

I know there's gotta be books for it, but I don't want to go buy one and find out I got a real cheap arse piece o' shyte. Anyone in here self-taught or something that could give me a reference?

2. crotchfruit

crotchfruit Guest

i had "c++ primer plus", which was a great language reference back in the day.. dunno if it's kept up with the times.

also, check out topcoder.com. they have a practice arena with a crapload of "one-functioners". basically, the give you the specs for a function and you have to fill out the meat. they range from super easy to super impossible. you also get to look at how other people implemented the function to see how you compare to the "masters". great for learning/experience.

3. Mugatu

Mugatu Ask me about market research. OT Supporter

I would say take a class - I learned C in school (way back when) and have tried to upgrade my skills to c++ but I find it gets very confusing when you get deeped into it - it would be REALLY nice to have a good instructor you can ask questions of

4. Scoob_13

Scoob_13 Anything is possible, but the odds are astronomica

Honestly, the best way to learn is from an accomplished instructor or a programmer than can speak English (as opposed to code).

5. Astro

Astro Code Monkey