best VM software?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by dissonance, Dec 18, 2008.

1. dissonance

dissonance reset OT Supporter

So I'm somewhat new to using VMs. I know minimal detail about the different ones, more just about VMs in general. I have only been using one myself for about 6 months (MS VirtualPC).

Anyway, with Peyomp's thread on a server and sffitzge's thread on ubuntu, I was wondering what you guys think is the best VM software for a desktop and method of deployment (ie: Ubuntu plate with VMPlayer on top, Vista plate with MS VirtualPC on top, etc)?

BTW: My only real complaint about MS VirtualPC is how slow it acts sometimes. If I save state instead of shutting down my Windows XP VM, the next time I run it its really sluggish. Shutting it down and starting up fresh each time works like a charm but takes longer to start.
    (I have an E6750 CPU with 3.3GB RAM. I dedicate 1GB of RAM to the XP VM, which is a pretty clean install, not much on it)

2. Hate Crime

Hate Crime Don't Hate OT Supporter

3. EkriirkE

EkriirkE Zika Xenu OT Supporter

vmware

4. maxxpower

maxxpower OG Lauren Crew - Observer OT Supporter

vmware or virtualbox are both great

5. ajdrosdick

ajdrosdick New Member

I teach at a technical college. All I use is Vmware Server.

6. trouphaz

trouphaz New Member

vmware, but not the free vmware player. you want the vmware workstation or something like that.

7. dissonance

dissonance reset OT Supporter

Arg, its $189 for the VMware Workstation. I would prefer something free or cheap....

(that doesn't rule it out though)

Is the player that restricted, I don't need it to be very elaborate. I really only run Windows XP as a VM and only to use old programs not supported on Vista (mainly Cool Edit Pro v2, Fireworks 4.0, Age of Empires II, and occasionally I burn DVDs in XP as I have better luck not making coasters than when using Vista).