best software firewall? even necessary?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by 01000101, Oct 3, 2004.

  1. 01000101

    01000101 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    0
    In light of the jpeg virus prep, ive been updating everything. the uhm.. slightly illegal version of zone alarm pro 5 i got fucked some stuff up.
    :rant2:
    really pissed me off, but i finally got it taken care of.

    i managed to get a legit copy, but firefox and my av didnt want to update. so i uninstalled it again. :rolleyes:

    i searched the forum and found 'black ice,' and lots of posts about za blowing. ive had za for years, the free and the pro version. it takes a long time to start up, and doesnt play nice with games.

    ive got a wireless router w/ switch and my dsl modem. do i need a software firewall? which one should i get? do i need a hardware firewall? ive got 2 xp pro, 1 xp home laptop, and an imac on my network.

    thanks! :bigthumb:
     
  2. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,499
    Likes Received:
    311
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    Your router is a firewall so a software firewall isn't really needed. The only way it would stop any incoming attacks would be if someone hacked your router from the outside. So all your software firewall really does behind a router is alert you to programs initiating outgoing connections. And if you don't download spyware and you keep your antivirus up to date, that's not a problem either.
     
  3. Aimless

    Aimless Resident drunkey

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Zone Alarm sucks my asshole. If you want a software firewall, use Sygate. If you want a hardware firewall use smoothwall.
     
  4. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,621
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Not firewall is going to stop the jpeg vulnerability unless it does deep packet inspection and that would be $$$$$$$$$$$$$$.
     
  5. Aimless

    Aimless Resident drunkey

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    No firewall needs to. Update your fucking software.
     
  6. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    I still use ZA, never had a problem with it in the dozens of computers I've installed it on. Hardware firewalls are good, but they don't stop outbound traffic and that can be just as destructive - even if you are careful.
     
  7. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,621
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA

    Truth!
     
  8. 01000101

    01000101 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    0
    just keeping it from phoning home..



    yeah, thanks. :rolleyes:
     
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2004

Share This Page