Best program for remoting into my computer?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by soundmaster2.0, Aug 8, 2007.

  1. soundmaster2.0

    soundmaster2.0 Toasted OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    727
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The State Of Confusion
    I am using realvnc right now but it is really slow and laggy. I was wondering if there was anything faster out there. Also remote desktop would work but it doesnt let me open some of my applications. If there is a way to get remote desktop to display my games and whatnot.
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    you cannot use overlays and other hardware-dependent rendering features through RDP. I recommend you stop trying to play games in that manner.
     
  3. soundmaster2.0

    soundmaster2.0 Toasted OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    727
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The State Of Confusion
    I figured as much but is there anything faster if i am just remoting in to do random shit that is not graphically challenging.
     
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
  5. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Why in the hell are you playing games remotely?
     
  6. OakleyTodd

    OakleyTodd New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Messages:
    2,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    I can sort of see where he is going with this...Maybe he has dual monitors, and thru RDC he can play against himself so he wins everytime?
     
  7. soundmaster2.0

    soundmaster2.0 Toasted OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    727
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The State Of Confusion
    Actually I play Unreal on my laptop at work when im on lunch and I wanted to play counterstrike but my laptop doesn't like it so i figured why not play it on my desktop at home.
     
  8. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
  9. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    .
     
  10. soundmaster2.0

    soundmaster2.0 Toasted OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    727
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The State Of Confusion
    I didn't think it would work but it was worth a shot, i figured even if it was possible I'd need ridiculous bandwidth anyway.
     
  11. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
    if you have dual screens at home, you cant RDC the duals, even if the computer you are connecting with has duals

    all of our machines at work are dual, but if you RDC from one of them to another you only get one screen
     
  12. soundmaster2.0

    soundmaster2.0 Toasted OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    727
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The State Of Confusion
    I'm in the process of setting up remote desktop so I can access it through my router.
     
  13. Bruticus

    Bruticus half dead OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,608
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne
    The bandwidth to play the actual game would be tiny (if you have useful upload that is), but transferring the images is what would kill you. You'd be dead before you saw who killed you. Just don't do anything graphically intensive over a remote connection and you'll be fine.
     
  14. soundmaster2.0

    soundmaster2.0 Toasted OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    727
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The State Of Confusion
    Yea that is pretty much what I figured seeing as how it is kinda laggy even with normal programs
     
  15. topdawg196

    topdawg196 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    4,416
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ Newark,S.O.,Rutherford,Elizabeth
    Use LOGMEIN.COM

    Free site, remote from anywhere over a web browser.

    By passes corporate firewalls too

    but still going to lag,
     
  16. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Ditto on RDP
     
  17. crontab

    crontab (uid = 0)

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2000
    Messages:
    23,439
    Likes Received:
    11
    there was a guy at my old work that would remote into his pc at home and play wow at work so he can build his shit up. he would do this in front of management and directors. when people ask, where is he, what's he doing. we would say, he's working on the wow factor.
     
  18. Kieffer87

    Kieffer87 Orly OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Where the Green Grass Grows
    I use logmein.com and RDP. Both work great.
     
  19. soundmaster2.0

    soundmaster2.0 Toasted OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    727
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The State Of Confusion
    I get bored on lunch since i get only a half an hour and my work is too far from anywhere for me to go out.
     

Share This Page