best OS for a underpowered laptop

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by indianghetto69er, Sep 20, 2003.

  1. indianghetto69er

    indianghetto69er New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2002
    Messages:
    9,658
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    durHAM
    it came with win 95 but i lost the cd so i put on win98, but this OS sucks real bad... what is the best OS for my laptop

    its a 200Mhz pentium MMX wit 16mb ram and 1mb vid ram with 2 gig hd

    thanks
     
  2. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,614
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Honestly I would say stick with Windows 98. Windows 98 SE was the best of the 95-ME series IMHO.
     
  3. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    are you apposed to installing linux?
     
  4. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    :werd: Linux will run real purty on there. If not that, maybe NT4?
     
  5. MP

    MP New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    34,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    win 3.1 :big grin:
     
  6. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    i'd try rh 6.1 or slack 7 or 8.
     
  7. Astro

    Astro Code Monkey

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2000
    Messages:
    2,047
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    NT v4? ouch :)

    I'd recommend a flavor of Win98. Properly configured, it should be stable. '98 runs well on that hardware level. Otherwise find a flavor of Linux and toss that on there.
     
  8. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Why ouch? We run NT4 Workstation on slower machines than that at work (166's) and it runs alright... It's heluva stable too.
     
  9. Astro

    Astro Code Monkey

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2000
    Messages:
    2,047
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    On a notebook though? As a desktop workstation or server, NT v4 is a great choice for that level of hardware. But since its a notebook, I'm going to guess he's going to want to do a little more things like play games or something. NT v4 notebook drivers would worry me a little bit (I'm sure they may be out there, but he'll want to look into it before doing the install). The other trick is what's the notebook going to be used for? Just downloading and maybe music playing, then yeah, NT v4 should be fine. Game playing? Forget it (although with that level of hardware, the games will have to be pretty old).
     
  10. MattIROC

    MattIROC has a semi nice av. changed due to rules :(

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2003
    Messages:
    4,356
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Antonio, Tx
    You can't go any higher than 98. 2k and XP require 64 mb memory.
     
  11. Leb_CRX

    Leb_CRX OT's resident terrorist

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2001
    Messages:
    39,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    my laptop is almost the same specs, I run windows98 and have no serious problems with it...runs fine, I would NOT try 2000 or XP, they have a hard time running on my 450+ with 256ram
     
  12. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,454
    Likes Received:
    278
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    16MB of RAM? Even Win95 sucks donkey balls on 16MB. Win98 is painful on 32MB so you can imagine how 16 is. Throw as much RAM in there as you can and keep 98.
     
  13. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Ah, true, I didn't even think of drivers. It's hard enough to find NT drivers for normal desktop stuff. And I always forget about games, since I don't play them :o
     
  14. indianghetto69er

    indianghetto69er New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2002
    Messages:
    9,658
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    durHAM
    my main problem is movies, its a regular movie (not divx encoded, regular mpeg 1 or 2) and it skips like crazy
     
  15. babygodzilla

    babygodzilla I love rice

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,108
    Likes Received:
    0
    16 MB ram? :eek3:
     
  16. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,614
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    More than likely it just doesn't have the CPU power to decode all the frams in the moive, hence the frame drop.
     
  17. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    :werd: On top of all that, the OS (whatever it may be) will be eating 95% of your available resources, given those specs..

    Get a new machine. :rofl:
     
  18. indianghetto69er

    indianghetto69er New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2002
    Messages:
    9,658
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    durHAM
    damn...

    i think i might get a new comp, what are the minimum specs for a laptop to play divx movies?
     
  19. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Try and stick with at LEAST 800 MHz/64MB.. but these days you should be able to get at least a 1.4 or 1.6 GHz laptop fairly cheap on ebay.

    You can definately play DIVX movies on machines slower then that..(i.e. I have a 500 MHz/128 machine and it works fine) but if you are in the market to step up, don't just take a baby step.. may as well just take a BIGGER step and get somewhere closer to this current century. ;)
     
  20. indianghetto69er

    indianghetto69er New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2002
    Messages:
    9,658
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    durHAM
    the thing is, this laptop is going in my car... so like its only purpose it so play mp3's, divx and vcd, and run like streets and maps... and that's it
    no games or anything like that

    does divx need lots of vid ram?
     
  21. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    It needs more then 1 MB of vid ram... and more then 16mb of regular ram, and more then 200 MHz too..

    I had a 233MHz IBM Thinkpad in my car with 32mb of ram, and it was HORRIBLE for playing movies..
     
  22. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,614
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Like I said earlier, it is sheer processing power that it is lacking.
     
  23. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
     

Share This Page