A&P Best monitor calibration? / WTB: Monitor calibration

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by FusionZ06, Jun 25, 2009.

  1. FusionZ06

    FusionZ06 /\__/\__/\__0>

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    86,918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunshine State
  2. Section8

    Section8 .

    Joined:
    May 29, 2001
    Messages:
    99,761
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Golden, CO
    I have a huey pro, can't say it's the best though because it's all i've used :dunno:
     
  3. FusionZ06

    FusionZ06 /\__/\__/\__0>

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    86,918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunshine State
  4. FusionZ06

    FusionZ06 /\__/\__/\__0>

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    86,918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunshine State
  5. ///Mik3

    ///Mik3 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    911
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    All Over California
    I use an Eye one display 2. Works quite well
     
  6. jared_IRL

    jared_IRL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    17,726
    Likes Received:
    51
    the best?

    http://www.amazon.com/X-Rite-EOXTR-i1XTreme/dp/B001NJ0C96

    i1 extreme.

    Or the "i1 i0" if you do any sort of printer calibration. Creating your own print profiles FTMFW!!

    (this is what I used to create the canvas profile I use, and I have compared it to a HUGE number of other systems - no contest.)
     
  7. FusionZ06

    FusionZ06 /\__/\__/\__0>

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    86,918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunshine State
    Well the best for the money :hs:
     
  8. jared_IRL

    jared_IRL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    17,726
    Likes Received:
    51
    you said best.

    not cheapest...
     
  9. legendr34

    legendr34 Titanium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2000
    Messages:
    4,433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    i have the sypder3, which i like, the software is very easy to use and setup
     
  10. FusionZ06

    FusionZ06 /\__/\__/\__0>

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    86,918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunshine State
    I think I'll go with that one.
     
  11. tetsuo

    tetsuo And shepherds we shall be...

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    9,444
    Likes Received:
    0
    :rofl: is that thing even useful if you have a shitty monitor? i'm assuming that on my $175 monitor, that would be a HUGE waste of money

    i like my huey pro :dunno: but its the only one i've used too :o
     
  12. mojito

    mojito New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    62,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    spyder 2 was crap, dunno about the 3
     
  13. asdfbunk

    asdfbunk A Member OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    29,804
    Likes Received:
    7
    of course it'd be useful. overkill.. but useful :rofl:
     
  14. tetsuo

    tetsuo And shepherds we shall be...

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    9,444
    Likes Received:
    0
    i would have more invested in making sure the color was correct than i had in my entire computer :rofl:
     
  15. asdfbunk

    asdfbunk A Member OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    29,804
    Likes Received:
    7
    and what is wrong with that :nono:
     
  16. jared_IRL

    jared_IRL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    17,726
    Likes Received:
    51
    What good is an awesome computer, printer and camera if your color is completely fucked on your final product?
     
  17. tetsuo

    tetsuo And shepherds we shall be...

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    9,444
    Likes Received:
    0
    true, that's why i have a huey pro :o its a good budget model, just like every other aspect of my photography.
     
  18. wizeguy4

    wizeguy4 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,454
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Allentown, PA
    I also have the huey pro
     
  19. FusionZ06

    FusionZ06 /\__/\__/\__0>

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    86,918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunshine State
    I think Huey Pro is limited to one monitor though :o
     
  20. wizeguy4

    wizeguy4 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,454
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Allentown, PA
    Huey is limited

    huey pro is multi monitor, hence teh reason I got it. Hardware is teh same, software is different
     
  21. FusionZ06

    FusionZ06 /\__/\__/\__0>

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    86,918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunshine State
    Well couldn't I just get the hardware for Huey and download the software :hsugh:
     
  22. FusionZ06

    FusionZ06 /\__/\__/\__0>

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    86,918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunshine State
  23. tetsuo

    tetsuo And shepherds we shall be...

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    9,444
    Likes Received:
    0
    from what i've read, the magenta issue is only if you leave it plugged in and turn on the dynamic lighting portion. it tries to recalibrate your monitor to the light in the room and fails. i've been pretty happy with mine, but i just use it once a month or so to calibrate my monitors and then i unplug it and throw it in my desk drawer. :dunno:
     
  24. tetsuo

    tetsuo And shepherds we shall be...

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    9,444
    Likes Received:
    0
    no i believe its the same hardware but it has a different firmware or something. huey has a program you can run to convert it, but they only send it to you if you pay them for the upgrade.
     
  25. isaac86hatch

    isaac86hatch This thread sucks

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    27,892
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Not the Pantone Huey basic.
     

Share This Page