MMA best martial art for fighting

Discussion in 'OT Bar' started by ralph, Oct 12, 2006.

?

What martial art do you think is most effective in a street fight?

1. BJJ

8 vote(s)
    17.0%
  2. Muay Thai

26 vote(s)
    55.3%
  3. Boxxing

10 vote(s)
    21.3%
  4. Something Else

3 vote(s)
    6.4%
  1. ralph

ralph driver her like you stole her

i've been doing combat hapkido for about 4 months and am starting to wonder if it is realistic in helping one in a fight.

2. Bausk

Bausk New Member

All of the above. If only one... boxing.

3. shiba

shiba Active Member

jujitsu. though it dosent hurt to learn how to punch and kick.

4. CyberEye

CyberEye Oh god, the voices

definatley Wing Chun!!
    Or Tae Kwon Do, then you can awe your opponant by your ability to kick really really high.

5. bpa00

bpa00 New Member

It seems to me that many of the top fighters have one or more of the following... bjj, kick boxing, and/or wrestling. Boxing definitely seems to be a good additional skill for "ground guys" such as Nogera to pick up... You have your strikers w/ good ground/take-down defense... your submission fighters with good take downs/striking defense, and your wrestlers with good ground in pound...

I'll vote BJJ since almost all fights end up on the ground at some point...

*edit*

Duh... I missed "street fighting"... I'd still probably go with BJJ as most street fighters won't have a clue what to do if you get them on the ground...

6. 2ofdem

2ofdem OT Supporter

boxing real fights never last long enough to be able to use BJJ

7. Bausk

Bausk New Member

Most street fights I've seen are one punch, or broken up as soon as they hit the ground. If you are in a situation that could last longer, you're better off trying to get the fuck out of there... or you probably wanted to be there.

8. Kozzy McKoz

Kozzy McKoz OT Supporter

muay thai is probably the most dynamic striking art. i really love the clinch

9. brolli

brolli OT Supporter