Best free personal use VNC program

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Strife, Feb 23, 2007.

  1. Strife

    Strife Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    27,459
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    I just need a simple VNC to install on my home comp so I can log into it at work. Nothing crazy, just for transfering files and possibly watching movies and stuff.

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. chips

    chips ...

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    3,755
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    What OS is it?
     
  3. Strife

    Strife Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    27,459
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    windows xp pro
     
  4. chips

    chips ...

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    3,755
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Use remote desktop thats built in to it
     
  5. Strife

    Strife Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    27,459
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    Yea I was just worried about security issues.

    I was talking to my boss about it and he said he'd rather use a VNC program.

    But I guess I'll just enable remote desktop unless their's better suggestions.
     
  6. Jago

    Jago It helps if you hit it.

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2000
    Messages:
    27,965
    Likes Received:
    0
    Watching movies over VNC? Dunno about that one.
     
  7. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Yeah, unless he's on the local network, watching video will not work out.
     
  8. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,422
    Likes Received:
    270
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    Even then I doubt it would work at all. VNC isn't exactly the most efficient remote control protocol.
     
  9. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Use VNC.
     
  10. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,741
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    ultravnc is pretty good, i haven't used it outside of a local network though
     
  11. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Its all the same fucking code.
     
  12. +(ll.ll)+

    +(ll.ll)+ New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    14,072
    Likes Received:
    0
  13. LANshark

    LANshark This is America. My president is black and my Lamb

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,519
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bland Diego
    Just use Remote Desktop with a good password and update your windows
     
  14. JayC71

    JayC71 Guest

    How much security do you need for the traffic to your home computer, honestly? Unless you're transfering very important company IP, which you shouldn't be since your home computer is not as secure as your corp network (if your IT staff knows what they're doing), you don't need Gov't level encryption (FIPS). The real reason your boss should be saying no is that you're opening the company network to the possibility of infiltration/infection from an unmanaged, untrusted host. But, if you must....

    Change the default RDP port (3389) so 95% of the script kiddies running scans won't find it (or won't be able to tell what's running if they do), create an actual secure passPHRASE (not passWORD) on your home computer, make sure your account lockout policy is configured (preferably 3-5 attempts), then go into your local group policy (GPEDIT.MSC) and set your encryption level to HIGH (Computer Configuration\Administrative Templates\Windows Components\Terminal Services\Encryption and Security\Set Client Connection Encryption Level), and you're done. You'll only be able to connect if you have a high-encryption capable RDP client (like the one in XP) and know the new super secret (ok, not really) port.

    Don't forget to forward your newly devised RDP port on your router to your internal IP.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 24, 2007
  15. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    +1 for ultravnc, has file transfer etc. the singleclick server works wonders for helpdesk.
     
  16. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    VNC is less secure than RDP... So you're being retarded if you chooce VNC over it.
     
  17. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you remote desktop over anything but a VPN, you are a retard in general.
     
  18. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    People RDP over the internet all the time and do not have issues. It's no less secure than online banking or buying something at Amazon.com. Granted a VPN is a better solution, it's not something I'd consider "retarded" not to use.
     
  19. keleko

    keleko yes, he is

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    28,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lauderhill, fl

Share This Page