Best CPU temp monitoring..

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by negative zero, Sep 4, 2009.

  1. negative zero

    negative zero New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    6,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the Watchtower
    for Windows 7? :dunno:

    I have my q9550 overclocked and it's been running fine for a week or so now. Just looking to see what kind of temps it's hitting.
     
  2. SeeVinceRun

    SeeVinceRun Currently In Prison OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    Need this too. Been getting wildly varied temps in bios versus temp programs with my Phenom II
     
  3. Hate Crime

    Hate Crime Don't Hate OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    ive always used real temp
     
  4. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    Real Temp FTW.
     
  5. SeeVinceRun

    SeeVinceRun Currently In Prison OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    realtemp wont work on my phenom II

    coretemp says I idle at 30c, and hit 65c under load at stock settings. AS thermal past, applied correctly. Stock heatsink.

    WTF 65c
     
  6. DigiCrime

    DigiCrime If Only!

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    32,996
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    St. Louis
    speedfan works on phenoms
     
  7. SeeVinceRun

    SeeVinceRun Currently In Prison OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    Some are saying that the temps are up to 10c higher than they really are. I dont know, with my window open on a cold night and 11ty fans blowing on the CPU, id like to think its idling lower than 28-30c and surely not hitting 65c, that seems outrageous for a stock CPU.

    Edit- maybe they are dead on, if so then i need a new cooler.
     
  8. crontab

    crontab (uid = 0)

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2000
    Messages:
    23,443
    Likes Received:
    12
  9. negative zero

    negative zero New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    6,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the Watchtower
    OK, so...

    Realtemp
    Coretemp
    hwmonitor
    speedfan

    are my choices?

    Guess I could try them all and see if two give similar results.
     
  10. SeeVinceRun

    SeeVinceRun Currently In Prison OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    Undervolted the Phenom to 1.275. Now it doesnt go above 50c when in Prime, max heat test. Hmmm.....
     
  11. Bencorn

    Bencorn New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ames, IA
    I use everest ultimate edition for all my cpu monitoring. It seems to work really well and has an on screen display for by the second updates when I'm gaming and testing new settings.
     
  12. negative zero

    negative zero New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    6,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the Watchtower
    OK

    I got Realtemp. I have a q9550 and it shows 2688MHz (448*6). Problem is that I have it overclocked. Windows shows 3.8GHz as does BIOS. Does RealTemp only show the stock speed for some reason?


    Temps are 38, 33, 33, 33 on idle. I'll see what they are when I fire up COD later tonight. CPU fan speed is all the way down to low on my Tuniq Tower BTW. I'll also crank it up later to see the difference.

    Which reminds me, is there a decent fan controller I can run all my fans through to throttle their speed from time to time? I have three 120mm Tri-Cool antec fans and then my Tuniq tower 120mm fan. Also have another 120mm keeping my vid card cooled. So, at least 4 fans but 5 would be better.
     
  13. negative zero

    negative zero New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    6,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the Watchtower
    After playing ~20 minutes of COD my temps were 41, 35, 35, 35. Not much of an increase at all. :dunno:

    EDIT: And it it normal for the 1st core to always be higher than the other 3?
     
  14. DigiCrime

    DigiCrime If Only!

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    32,996
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    St. Louis
    i shut my computer off the other day playing wolfenstien :o forgot I overclocked it without proper cooling whoops
     
  15. Homeless

    Homeless New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Messages:
    975
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    Realtemp / Coretemp are the best imo. Everest is right behind them
     
  16. SeeVinceRun

    SeeVinceRun Currently In Prison OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    Nicely done.
     
  17. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    30C is not hot at all. It's only 3C/5F higher than body temperature. Let's not forget that your CPU uses as much power as a lightbulb does, and it's much smaller too.

    You don't need a new cooler unless your computer locks up when you run Prime95.
     
  18. SeeVinceRun

    SeeVinceRun Currently In Prison OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    After doing more reading, my 28-30c idle is pretty damn good. And it seems temps in the 65-70c+ range are not uncommon or phenom IIs. That being said, AMD lists the max temps at 60 or 62.

    I was just shocked that a stock CPU at stock voltage with a nice stock cooler can reach temps WAY over what is considered safe operating level.

    Oh well, im scraping some change together to get a Xigmatek and call it a day.
     
  19. phoenix1105

    phoenix1105 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm a bit of a nebbie at all of this do -it-yourself stuff, so bear with me. What temps should the system being running at? I've got a Q9450 @2.66Ghz, a board 780i SLI, and a pair of NVidivia 280's. Thanks
     
  20. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    As noted, 30C is pretty hard to beat as an idle temperature, and the only thing that really matters for full-load temperature is whether the computer shuts off or not. The CPU has a temperature sensor built in, and the motherboard will shut off the computer if the CPU gets too close to the maximum safe temperature.
     

Share This Page