Best cell phone for OS X? (don't say iPhone)

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by IcyHot4Life, Jul 29, 2006.

  1. IcyHot4Life

    IcyHot4Life Str8 Ballin'

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    18,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inquire Within
    Obviously I'm :x:ing for an iPhone at WWDC, but assuming that's not happening yet, what phones have you guys had good experiences with under OS X? I have a SonyEricsson T610 now and I still love it, but it's getting old and it might be time to upgrade soon.

    Basically I'm looking for a GSM phone, preferably a smartphone, with iCal / Address Book sync, bluetooth at the miminum, with WiFi, EDGE, web browser, e-mail (secure auth) as preferable bonuses. Thoughts? I was looking at the SonyEricsson P990 (fucking expensive) and maybe the Treo / BlackBerry line, but I don't see anything amazing for the price. :dunno:

    edit: oh and if I could do sweet advanced shit like run java VoIP software over data connection to avoid cell minutes charges that would be the shit :coold:
     
  2. CarRamRod

    CarRamRod The schnozzberries taste like schnozzberries.

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I have a Sony Ericsson W810i and I really enjoy it. Syncs perfectly with iSync.

    With the release of Missing Sync for Intel platforms, you get good syncing with Windows Mobile 5 phones. http://www.markspace.com/
     
  3. IcyHot4Life

    IcyHot4Life Str8 Ballin'

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    18,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inquire Within
    :cool: interesting.... that gives me a lot more potential options
     
  4. omgwtfbbqryan

    omgwtfbbqryan OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    14,590
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    I have a Treo 650, works with both the included software and iSync and/or Missing Sync.
     
  5. IcyHot4Life

    IcyHot4Life Str8 Ballin'

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    18,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inquire Within
    what service provider, and how is the general size of the device? I did some searching today and for the price, the SE M600i is pretty hot :cool:

    http://www.myworldphone.com/M600i.htm

    The W810i is also quadband and retains a good overlap of features, though it's not marketed as a smartphone:

    http://myworldphone.com/w810i.htm

    tough choices :noes:
     
  6. TheManLouisianaFace

    TheManLouisianaFace and decide!

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    32,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can you use the internet through any phones on osx?


    I know verizon phones have IR/USB for windows to get internet access.
     
  7. CarRamRod

    CarRamRod The schnozzberries taste like schnozzberries.

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Yes, I use my W810i as a modem every so often. I use it over bluetooth, so you just have to make sure it supports the dial-up profile or whatever it is.
     
  8. CarRamRod

    CarRamRod The schnozzberries taste like schnozzberries.

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    The M600i will not work with iSync.
     
  9. IcyHot4Life

    IcyHot4Life Str8 Ballin'

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    18,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inquire Within
    that should change soon :x: it's just because it's UIQ 3 I figure
     
  10. CarRamRod

    CarRamRod The schnozzberries taste like schnozzberries.

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    You can still send your address book over via Address Book, so it's not completely disconnected.
     
  11. Inferno

    Inferno New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    20,585
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    I want more details about this... how much does it cost for internet access via your cell phone on a laptop, and how fast is it?
     
  12. CarRamRod

    CarRamRod The schnozzberries taste like schnozzberries.

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    How fast is it? Depends on carrier. I've gotten up to 125kbps on my EDGE network on Cingular. It's about twice as fast as a 56k modem, about, with full signal.

    If you go to someone like Sprint or Verizon, they have up to 1Mbps connections!

    Depends on carrier. With Cingular, you are supposed to pay the laptop rate or whatever, but I just have the 19.99 a month unlimited wap plan and it works, until they cut it off.
     
  13. CarRamRod

    CarRamRod The schnozzberries taste like schnozzberries.

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Here's a pretty good guide on how to do it.

    http://homepage.mac.com/jrc/contrib/tzones/
     
  14. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    I can sit my imate pda2k evdo (xda 3) on the desk next to my pb and get on the net via bluetooth ;)

    And its actually pretty reasonable speed. much faster than my adsl at work (which is very shit).
     

Share This Page