GUN Beretta 92FS Centurion ?

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by 00600, Dec 6, 2007.

1. 00600

00600 New Member

I'm considering getting a CCW and I'm looking for a compact Beretta 92F. The 92s are a dime a dozen, but I'm wondering if anyone knows where I can pick up a shortened slide and barrel off a 92FS Centurion.

If nothing comes up I'll be left with the option of shortening it myself, I'm a machinist by trade, so it's not really a big deal. Hopefully I'll be able to get it to function properly by tuning the factory recoil spring.

Any ideas?

2. Paul Revere

Paul Revere OT Supporter

gun broker? gun forums? :dunno: ask your local FFL

3. 00600

00600 New Member

Tried gunbroker, gun forums? isn't that where I posted this?, Local FFL? And have him tax my ass?

I have a connection for ex police issue 92Fs, I just need to find the shorter barrel and slide. No FFL needed.

4. Paul Revere

Paul Revere OT Supporter

i meant a gun forum with a bigger "for sale" section. such as EE :hsugh:

5. Dumbstixlars

Dumbstixlars Ron Paul/AR-15/Glock/old car/Scooby/R/C croo OT Supporter

A 92FS centurion is too heavy to CCW IMO. You could buy a compact Glock/M&P/XD for less money that would be more comfortable to carry. Unless your getting one for really cheap, but even still, that's a heavy piece.

6. P07r0457

P07r0457 New Member

yea, why do you want a beretta 92fs??? no wai.

7. 00600

00600 New Member

It's lighter than my 1911.

I have rather large hands (I can palm a basketball), so I prefer the wider grip of the doublestack mag (my next choice would be a Para Ord)

<$300 with less than 100 rounds through it, sounds pretty cheap to me.

I don't like the feel of Glocks, an HK USP would be nice, but a little too pricy, same with Sigs.

I'd rather have a "heavy" well balanced steel/aluminum frame handgun than a "light" unbalanced composite handgun. It's just a personal preference.