SRS Being "shat upon" in the workplace.

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by DaDornta, Aug 23, 2007.

1. DaDornta

DaDornta New Member

I am a government employee--not federal but state. I am also "union" (whatever that means/does for me...)

I have been working my job as a UCC (Uniform Commercial Code) Recorder (archiving and doing data-entry) on forms/documents filled for public record.

I have been doing this now for only 7 months.

In that short time, I have not only learned my job--but all of the various duties that need to be done daily. The office in which I work is a 3-person operation. Two "recorders" and one manager.

My manager recently got promoted and left, leaving just us two recorders. Additionally, my co-worker left for 3 weeks on vacation--leaving me to handle the work of 3 people for 3 weeks.

Not only was I able to do everything the manager did, I was also able to keep the entire documentation-unit running -- by myself. After 7 months of experience.

So--after all of this, it turns out that a woman 10 years older than me (im 24) with ONE MONTH experience on the job (she isn't even off her probationary period and is still being trained) was hired as my supervisor. She's still being trained in another area where I work for gods sake!

She didn't meet the "minimum requirements" for the job either (same as myself--hence why I didn't apply)....but somehow she was told to apply anyway.

I'm getting the fuck out of here...and when the entire state office collapases because no one competent and as hard-working as myself is left---their will be legal rammifications (if people's documents can't get recorded)

I'm thinking about calling my union, talking to my higher-ups...but it seems pointless.

The ammount of two-faced-ness and backstabbing is appauling. At times I feel as not only the youngest--but most mature in the entire office.