Being Prepared...the ultimate thread.

Discussion in 'OT Driven' started by Boudreaux, Aug 3, 2005.

1. Boudreaux

Boudreaux Active Member

I've been wanting to make this thread for a while now. It sounded like a good idea in my head, but its 3 am here, so it is intirely likely that it will not come out as good as I was planning.

I have been riding off and on for 7 years now (mostly off) and have ridden everything from an old honda 125, suzuki 250 enduro, bmw '03 kt1200R, to an '03 R6. Most of the time my buddy lets me diddy around on his r6, but I have yet to save up enough money for a bike that will be mine to keep. I have been saving hardcore for about 1.5 years now, accrued a little under 2500, so i got a ways to go. But this has been with having only ~40 bucks a week in extra spending money to divide between activites and the bike, tough times.

I have my heart set on an f4i, 01-03. It was the first bike i ever wanted when i promised myself to have one by the time i turned 21 (which isnt going to happen BTW).

Anyway, enough chit chat, to the point, shall we?

I have been reading and re-reading my Texas DOT motorcycle handbook over the years, and have memorized damn near everything in the book, it has been virtually my bible. I have even taken the MSF online quiz and motorcycle situation training "games", all in efforts to be the best and smartest rider I can be.

But, alas, as we all know, you can never be too prepared, I am waiting to take the MSF course until I have well over enough money to buy my f4i and plenty of proper gear just so i don't have a lot of down time in between the course and lots of riding.

So, I come to you, my well ridden comrades and ask you to tell me, and talk to me and others about things they don't teach you in the book, and don't teach you at MSF, and things that would possibly be counter-intuitive to a "new" rider.