SRS Being judged

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by DrK_Mrk_iV, Mar 19, 2008.

1. DrK_Mrk_iV

DrK_Mrk_iV OT Supporter

Here's the story: I'm currently digging myself out of a hole.

I'm in college with 3 semesters left (b.s. in econ) and have an internship this summer with this kickass firm. Anyway, due to previous circumstances my parents have 0 trust in me. They still treat me like a child almost and upset when I don't come visit. I live about 45 minutes away from them. In fact, most of my family is like that. If all goes according to plan I'll be finished with college and have a great job in 2 years. Right now though, I'm really stressed (about parents, and the typical stuff like bills and credit cards). I'm a regular college student, but when I'm done with college I just want to pack my bags and leave everything behind. Has anyone ever done this before? I'm just tired of stressing about my parents and not happy where I am. Any thoughts? Sorry for rambling in advanced.

2. pixing

pixing New Member

2 years is a long time. And a lot is going to happen to you in that time.

If it helps your stress level to imagine your family far from you and thus unable to bother you then go ahead and do it. It might be more helpful (and I know this is difficult) to tell your parents the days you plan on visiting and hope that they understand that the rest of the time you are working and working on doing well in school. I know that part is hard, but if you keep saying it, eventually they will hear you (or you can ignore their nagging guilt free at that point.)

3. Socrates

Socrates New Member

I was in the same situation recently.

No matter what decision I make in life, my Mom has an opinion about it. All I ever hear from her is "You need to do this..." etc etc. I always hear from other family members "Your Mom thinks..."