GUN Beginner's revolver?

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by Tex, Aug 17, 2003.

1. Tex

Tex Now with avatar™

Hi all,

I'm going to be looking in to getting my handgun license. I just have a question, what do you people think would be a good starting point in a revolver? I know that a .22 would be the best for low recoil etc., and in Australia new handgun owners are restricted to .22 anyway as far as I know, but I was thinking something with a bit more zing in it, such as a .22 Magnum (pending legality enquiries obviously) might be a bit more fun.

The S&W Model 648 looks nice.

[​IMG]

I'm a noob, and obviously open to advice, so lay it on me. Any better suggestions?

Last edited: Aug 18, 2003
  2. kellyclan

kellyclan She only loves you when she's drunk.

i'd be hard pressed to think of a better wheel gun than a S&W.

(For less than $2000 that is. :o )

3. footratfunkface

footratfunkface New Member

.22 hornet, in a ruger maybe?

4. Tex

Tex Now with avatar™

Are all Rugers those ugly Western looking things (Redhawk is it?), or do they make some more contemporary-looking stuff too? :)

What is the difference between .22 and .22 Hornet? I'm guessing the Hornet is a more powerful round? If this is correct, is .22 Magnum more powerful again?

5. Pimp Cat

Pimp Cat Guest

6. Tex

Tex Now with avatar™

Haha, believe me, Pimp Cat, I was drooling over that one. However, firstly I dont think that's legal in Australia (max calibre for handguns here is .38 I believe, with .40 being acceptable for shooters participating in some special class events), and secondly I would break my wrists trying to fire that. :big grin:

But way :cool:, no doubt.

7. Pimp Cat

Pimp Cat Guest

werd. i saw it at the local gun shop and about blew my load. hehe, on my forum i posted that i was thinking about getting the XD and a girl from Austraila went wacko on us about owning guns and how we are crazy americans lol

8. kellyclan