MIL Becoming an officer questions

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by Gundam, Aug 9, 2009.

1. Gundam

Gundam Tell Drama he's on my to do list, right after inse

It's always been a desire of mines to join the military, but I never followed through with it. I have a BS in Criminal Justice, i've been through a POST certified police academy, and worked as a police officer for a short period of time. Right now I'm working a lame job with mediocre pay and I'm looking to shake things up. Ever since I posted up my resume on Monster, I've been getting emails from the Marines pushing me to go through their officer program. But before I get serious, I wanted to see what you guys know before I actually talk to a recruiter.

1. Assuming I make it through the program, what can I expect to get paid as a new officer? I was talking to an acquiantence who is a SSGT for the AF, and he makes 60k a year. He was telling me as an officer I'd be making close to 100k a year. Seems a little far fetched considering base pay is around 25k a year right?

2. I prefer the Air Force, but I hear they aren't really recruiting officers, and if they are, it's with technical degrees only right?

3. How long is the application process before you get shipped out? Then how long is training?

4. How many days out of the year, can I expect to be deployed?

2. Gundam

You mean post military career? Or a career in the military. Honestly I have no clue on what I want to do right now.

3. jmx2323

jmx2323 OT Supporter

no the AF is not really recruiting officers

4. tunes

tunes OT Supporter

I only make 45k as an O-1

5. endemicW

endemicW fffffffffuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu OT Supporter

factor in the fact that officers get nice housing for free and that initial basepay is a lot more than you think. plus deployments are tax free so you get extra money during those.

6. jmx2323

jmx2323 OT Supporter