BC Pills

Discussion in 'Vaginarium' started by Amanda Ann, Oct 24, 2007.

1. Amanda Ann

Amanda Ann New Member

Just looking for advice and personal experience here, not looking to be educated on birth control in general - I've been using some form of it for over 7 years now.

I've been on the depo shot for four years now. I decided that after my last injection (in Sept) I was through with it. I wasn't digging some of the research I was reading about its effect on bone density/calcium depletion in women, nor can I say I was too crazy about dropping my pants and getting an injection in the ass every 3 months. That being said, I informed my gyno of this at my annual appt. three weeks ago. She was okay with it, and offered suggestions of other options. I'm not crazy about the patch or the ring because I hear so many mixed arguments, and I'm pretty sure my insurance company won't cover the IUD. Basically, I'm looking at the pill again (I was on ortho Tricyclen for 3 years before I started Depo). I did tell her that the one thing I enjoyed about Depo was losing my period over the four years I was on it. I am def looking for something (somewhat) similar. She threw out that new pill at me - Lybrel, but I'm not sure how I feel about taking something that is that new.

Long story short, she suggested Seasonique. Periods 4 times a year sounds much better than 12 or 13, but she also mentioned that many women experience intermenstrual bleeding and such. Does anyone have any experience with this pill? I'm anxious to start the pill, but I have until end of Nov/beginning of Dec until I actually have to.

Also, I've been seeing commercials for Yaz alot. Their whole "3 days" periods seems catchy. Does anyone have any experience with this pill either? I'm trying to explore my options here. I currently have a starter pack for Seasonique, but I'd like to hear some input from others before I commit to it. Thanks! :wavey:

2. Elphaba

Elphaba New Member