Batch renaming photos

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by ok_computer, May 7, 2008.

  1. ok_computer

    ok_computer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    15,615
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB, Canada
    Is there anything on a mac that lets me batch rename photos? Specifically, I'm looking to do this:

    For example, if I have 500 photos called DSC_0001-DSC_0500, and I want to change the DSC to something like XYZ, for XYZ_0001-XYZ_0500.

    Thats what I need to do. I know how to batch rename in a sequence, which is easy, but my photos I need to change are all random numbers, like DSC_2876, DSC_2988, DSC_3801 and so on, and those need to change to XYZ_2876, XYZ_2988, and XYZ_3801.

    I need a FAST, and free way to do this, must be fast. I can't use Lightroom because it's slow as balls.
     
  2. Wolf68k

    Wolf68k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    4,861
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
  3. JCrev

    JCrev Where is your god now? OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3,852
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    I use "A Better Finder Rename" for renaming folders full of photos. Its nice because you can set up rules for renaming files and it can create a script for you so you just have to drag and drop a folder full of files onto the script and it will apply your custom rules to it.

    The program isn't free, but it shouldn't be to hard to find a serial for it.
     
  4. kidhero

    kidhero not really a hero, really just a big fat phony

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Messages:
    6,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    make an automator script. it's really easy, it's preinstalled, and it's free.
     
  5. Jonny Chimpo

    Jonny Chimpo OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    64,811
    Likes Received:
    384
    Location:
    The sweaty asshole of the universe
  6. quid

    quid I Piss Excellence OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Messages:
    50,352
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    california
    i use an app called r-name
     
  7. nsxrebel

    nsxrebel New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,272
    Likes Received:
    0
    Why not use automator? it's part of Mac OSX, preinstalled, so why not use it?
     
  8. Jonny Chimpo

    Jonny Chimpo OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    64,811
    Likes Received:
    384
    Location:
    The sweaty asshole of the universe
    Because freeware apps built for the purpose of batch renaming are faster and easier to use? :ugh:

    Just because Automator CAN do something doesn't mean it's the BEST way to do something.
     

Share This Page