bass shakers?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by RiCePiCkR, Sep 7, 2007.

1. RiCePiCkR

RiCePiCkR haay

i bought some home theater seats and these came along with them. 2 of them actually.

[​IMG]

first of all i'm a total noob and i have no idea how to set this up and wire it.

this is my receiver... yamaha RX-V861BL... i currently have a 7.1 speaker set up.
    [​IMG]

my question is do i need to purchase an extra amplifier or receiver to set this up? or can i just wire it to my receiver or my sub? no ideaa what i'm doing. thanks guys.

2. twistid

twistid Banged By Super Models Moderator

3. GammaRadiation

GammaRadiation Active Member

A friend of mine used some for his game chair and personally I like the sound of a serious subwoofer more than having my ass shaked for music and even movie tracks. Then agian, big subwoofers with the same sort of imposing effect would be rather expensive.

4. eighteen_psi

eighteen_psi Active Member

They can work very well if you use them LOW. I have a pair of the Aura pro's in my car running 50W per, <40Hz @ 12dB. They run under my main subs (A pair of Boston Pro 12.5LFs that are phenomenal in every way but their bottom octave response (low xmax). That low-pass matches the natural rolloff of my subs very well. So what I end up with is a small box system that plays spectacularly tight and still upsets your stomach on the stupid-low stuff. Do I actually have flat response down to 20Hz? Nah. But perception is at least as important as measurements and set up right it sure seems that way.