Bar Code Scanner for Web Application?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Peyomp, Aug 5, 2007.

  1. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can you use a bar code reader with a web application? The bar code scanner spits out text, as though from a keyboard. So its just a matter of directing it to the right part of the form...

    Could be a little ugly, though. Anyone done this?
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    we do this with some internal forms at work. The rep is required to set focus to the field, but through javascript we have it auto-tab to the next valid field after a scan so it's easy as long as they were in the right field to begin with.
     
  3. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Same with our company. We have a micro application that runs on our intranet web server, and with handheld scanners with wireless capability, users are able to scan boxes as they traverse the factory floor. Like jolly said, focus must be on the field, but it tabs automatically and usually the input field is the only thing on the screen.

    We use Intermec handheld scanners running Windows CE.

    [​IMG]
     
  4. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    So you set focus on the field with javascript when the page loads? What is the method of focus setting?
     
  5. crazybenf

    crazybenf Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    15,575
    Likes Received:
    2
    They both said the user sets focus to the first field manually, then JS auto tabs to the next.
     
  6. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    One of my customer's has a huge custom written inventory app that is web based. They use a variety of handheld and truck-mounted scanners with it. Actually, those are the primary users.
     
  7. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    you *could* set focus with javascript upon page load. that would work. Our forms require interaction with mouse/keyboard before becoming useful with a scanner... however, if your form did not require that, you could easily auto-focus.

    Heck, with AJAX you could do some really cool stuff.
     
  8. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    With this app, I imagine you'd want to scan as soon as you went to the app page. Hmmm... thanks for the feeback, guys. I had doubts about this working in practice.
     
  9. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Why would I need any of that if its just a USB keyboard?
     
  10. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    Have used a couple diff barcode scanners which just output the text like a keyboard would. You can even set some of them up to send a [tab] afterward. Or you could make some creative javascript like jolly said
     
  11. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    Most scanners output as a keyboard, so that is generally the preferred method.

    There ARE scanners that require applets or an OCX, however, those are rare. They are generally limited to magnetic card readers (such as credit card swipes) and rfid scans where you need the data to remain secure, and a dump to a notepad txt file would be a huge problem. These applets would handle the xfer of data from the scanner to a variable for submission, and the user could "scan" without having to select focus on a field.

    However, for this application, it is probably an unnecessary burden.
     

Share This Page