Bandwidth Aggregation / Link Bonding

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by P07r0457, Apr 10, 2007.

  1. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    I have a new location that is only able to receive 1.5Mbps down / 896Kbps up from the telco. Cable says they can do 10Mbps down / 1Mbps up, so we had that installed. However, I only average approximately 450Kbps durring the day. If I check early early morning it gets 6Mbps+. So it has definitely satisfied me that cable sucks horribly, Charter is shit (they've seen 4 techs out and can't fix it) so I am going to get rid of Cable... Now, for DSL.... I'd like to have several (at least two) DSL links bonded to provide one larger pipe. If possible, I'd prefer to be able to start a single download and receive full speed on that single download. However, it would be acceptable if a single download can only use a single connection, but two downloads will each use a seperate connection.

    It is *not* okay for it to simply do a "failover" to the second link if one drops. It actually must utilizes all connections available to improve throughput.

    Has anyone used a cost-effective SOHO router that supports bandwidth aggregation or link bonding? Any opinions, recommendations? I'd at least like it to support 2 links. Expandability for a third or fourth would be a bonus, but is not required.
     
  2. crazybenf

    crazybenf Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    15,575
    Likes Received:
    2
    pfsense.org check out the multiwan functions.

    I've setup MANY loadbalancing pfsense boxes with 7-10 cable modems. 7 10mbit uplinks was hitting 56mbit throughput last night at a client's.
     
  3. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    At work we have a Fortinet router that can automatically load-balance two conections.
     
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
  5. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    No idea. Our IT company supplied it. D-Link makes a similar unit, though.
     
  6. dew

    dew Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    47,656
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MIA
    id like to know of a good load balancing router as well
     
  7. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
  8. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
    Something like this'd be great for my residence (384/184 max ftmfl). The price is right.

    Then I read (customer review)
    So now I'm wondering exactly what my knowledge gap would be if I were to give it a try.
     
  9. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    I have a Cisco CCNA cert... I think I can manage it.
     
  10. crazybenf

    crazybenf Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    15,575
    Likes Received:
    2
    .


    open source software + a pentium 1 machine
     
  11. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    reliability is important. So I'd have to build a new machine, and that'd be more money :hs:
     
  12. 7960

    7960 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    60,415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    CCNA wouldn't prepare you for link aggregation. If you're willing to read, sure, but nothing in CCNA would even touch aggregation.
     
  13. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    I can read, too.
     
  14. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
    Where to start?
     
  15. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can't link aggregate without support at the other end, or running a dynamic routing protocol. Not so that single sockets will benefit, anyway.

    Am I wrong?
     
  16. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    yes. You can do aggregation with basic residential ADSL without special support on the end. You need to use static routes, but even those can be done without much hassle.

    Bandwidth BONDING would require support at the other end, because that bonds two or more links into one larger "virtual" pipe. With bonding, one single-threaded download can acheive the full speed of the Nx pipe; opposed to bandwidth aggregation where each connection will only use one link, but multiple connections can each run on different links.

    So aggregation can be done with complete transparency to the end-terminal, but bonding requires support on both ends of the links.
     
  17. 7960

    7960 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    60,415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    It's covered in CCNP, networking professional.
     
  18. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay, right. I thought you were saying bonding. You just want multiple links with static routes. That I'm all about. The linksys VPN appliances can do this.
     
  19. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    does the older one do it? or just the new RV08 type units?
     
  20. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    This was in 2003/4 that they did it, that I knew about. I think. Double check, cause now I think it might have been failover only... but I think it shares.
     
  21. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    before 2005 I don't think linksys had anything except fail-over.
     

Share This Page