bah... need some help on what this blue screen means? *pic*

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by xXVERBXx, Jan 14, 2008.

  1. xXVERBXx

    xXVERBXx Tungsten Carbide Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2001
    Messages:
    16,677
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well i figured it was happening because of bad RAM, i still think thats what it is, its a pretty old computer, but i thought maybe one of you guys might know. :dunno:

    I usually only get it when i am running a program like my zune software, or when i running WoW.

    :mad: :rant2: :squint: :wtc:
    [​IMG]
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    run memtest86+ and see what it says.
     
  3. Zak8022

    Zak8022 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Messages:
    4,012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    :werd: Bad RAM is the easiest thing to test for. Run memtest as Jolly sugested.


    You know, i still think of you as Jolly, even tho your screen name is some other seemingly random assortment of numbers and letters.
     
  4. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
  5. xXVERBXx

    xXVERBXx Tungsten Carbide Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2001
    Messages:
    16,677
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well i couldnt get memtest86 to work. :dunno: and i dont have any disks to burn it to a CD, so i dowloaded this memory test app that i found on google, not sure how accurate it is, but it did come up with a memory error, so i'm pretty convinced its the ram, cause i havent installed and new hardware or software lately.

    i'll proly just find some used ram on ebay for a temp fix untill i build my next PC, the shitty thing is i bought this PC from gateway and it came with rambus memory :uh:

    [​IMG]
     
  6. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio

    Ouch!

    You're gonna get raped unless you buy that used on ebay or something.
     
  7. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,089
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
    you should really be using the bootable CD to test ram, it's also on the memtest website, just burn the .iso image file then boot off the CD.

    You could get errors if it's trying to copy to or from an area the system has reserved.
     
  8. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    it's a rambus system? You can buy a new system for the same cost as some rdram :mamoru:
     
  9. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,089
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204

    So very very scary and sad, but true.
     
  10. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's funny though, for certain applications Rambus is still the fastest stuff you can get. Digital audio workstations built with RDRAM can still outrun new systems running on DDRAM, even though the clockspeeds are supposedly the same now.
     
  11. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    That would be very interesting, deuse, if it were true. Fortunatly, it's not. Can you shut the fuck up now? kthxbye.
     
  12. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm not the one who says so. Ask Sweetwater and DigiDesign what they think. They use the things every day.
     
  13. FusionZ06

    FusionZ06 /\__/\__/\__0>

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    86,918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunshine State
    boot disk memtest not in windows
     
  14. xXVERBXx

    xXVERBXx Tungsten Carbide Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2001
    Messages:
    16,677
    Likes Received:
    0

    I read some were that PS3 is using a new type of rambus. :dunno:

    and some of the newer stuff is supposed to be faster then ddr3. :dunno:
     
  15. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    As far as I know, Rambus is just prohibited from making RAM for x86 computers, as punishment for colluding with Intel to make Rambus the only brand of RAM usable with the Pentium 4.

    Dumb fuckers. It was good stuff.

    Anyway, there's nothing stopping them from making RAM for the PS3, or the Wii, or Cray supercomputers, or god-knows-how-many military applications.
     
  16. xXVERBXx

    xXVERBXx Tungsten Carbide Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2001
    Messages:
    16,677
    Likes Received:
    0
    yea its fucked up tho how exspensive it is, 2 256mb sticks on ebay for $55-60, USED. :rofl:

    2gb ddr2 kit form g.skill $50 or somthing close ot that.
     
  17. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, yeah, but g.skill is shit. That Rambus may be old and small, but at least you know it's high-quality.
     
  18. TankedOutSuicide

    TankedOutSuicide These aren't the DJs were looking for...

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boca Raton, FL
    are you serious......g.skill is one of the most stable (overcloackable) DDR on the market today. I need to look for the test they did comparing some other chipsets....
     
  19. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Performance-wise, yeah. There's always the odd duck versions from different companies that are blazing fast.
    Patriot extreme, Buffalo firestix, G.Skill...
    But when you can get 2gb of DDR2-800 Corsair XMS2 for $50 shipped, why bother?
     

Share This Page