Backup Software

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Kieffer87, Jul 24, 2007.

  1. Kieffer87

    Kieffer87 Orly OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Where the Green Grass Grows
    I'm looking for some backup software in which I can select which folders to backup. The main feature I want though is if the files haven't changed from backup to backup then it will just skip over them.
     
  2. KungFool7

    KungFool7 keep driving—it's getting earlier

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Up until you said that last part, I was going to say just the windows backup utility.

    The only other backup software we use is Nova backup, but i'm not sure if it can do what you're asking.

    check it out.
     
  3. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Windows Backup can do incremental backups - it's the whole reason there's an archival bit.
     
  4. Kieffer87

    Kieffer87 Orly OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Where the Green Grass Grows
    I run vista on the machine that needs to be backed up so I tryed out the included but its organized in a way that it only lets you select things like "pictures", "music", that shit, you can't just say backup this folder. Basically I just want my documents, and my picture folder, and a couple of other folders that are backed up to another computer. I just figure if its already been copied and hasn't changed there is no point in wasting time recopying the file since most won't change.
     
  5. KungFool7

    KungFool7 keep driving—it's getting earlier

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is possibly some stupid advice, but hey...it's windows...


    If you switch to windows classic view and toolbars, etc...does it give you options like xp to back up files?

    I've probably spent a grand total of 2 hours on vista, so I have no idea what to tell you as far as the vista backup goes.
     
  6. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Well if you aren't compressing the data, you can use robocopy to mirror two directories, or MS's Sync Toy
     
  7. Kieffer87

    Kieffer87 Orly OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Where the Green Grass Grows
    I think robocopy would just give me a headache. I have about 20 different folders that I want copied.
     
  8. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Well use SyncToy if you can't copy and paste the same line over and over in Notepad!
     
  9. Kieffer87

    Kieffer87 Orly OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Where the Green Grass Grows
    After looking into it more robocopy might work pretty good, I downloaded a GUI version.
     

Share This Page