Backup images on Windows 7 x64

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Maffy29, Nov 14, 2009.

  1. Maffy29

    Maffy29 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    7,799
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Looking for something to make backup images of my hardrive for my Windows 7 Ultimate x64 machine. I had been using Ghost 14, but it has compatibility issues with Windows 7. Anybody have something that works for automatic backups?
     
  2. negative zero

    negative zero New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    6,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the Watchtower
    Have you used the built in backup utility? I haven't but have heard it is very good.
     
  3. Sailor Jerry

    Sailor Jerry OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    35,173
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Dirtona Beach
    Acronis True Image
     
  4. dissonance

    dissonance reset OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    5,652
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    KS
    Curious for more information of this.... About to upgrade multiple machines to Win7 and would like to do this....
     
  5. Maffy29

    Maffy29 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    7,799
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    I have a copy of that somewhere.
     
  6. BlazinBlazer Guy

    BlazinBlazer Guy Witness to The De-Evolution of Mankind.

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    18,783
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lansing, MI USA
    This. Been using it for years and have never had a problem with it. Luckily I've never had to recover a machine from a backup its done though.
     
  7. Fase

    Fase Your Face, In A Pickle Jar.

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    Messages:
    29,540
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Windsor, Ont, Canada.
    I use this; their boot disc.
     
  8. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,501
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    I use Image For Windows. Its cheap and runs on Windows Server too without screwing you for $600+ like Acronis does.
     
  9. phatguy88

    phatguy88 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Messages:
    19,124
    Likes Received:
    77
    Location:
    boston
    I have. It took 30 min and worked flawlessly.
     
  10. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    I've been using the built-in Windows backup, but haven't had to do any restores yet.
     

Share This Page