A&P Backing up Lightroom...

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by Fotenks, Feb 4, 2009.

  1. Fotenks

    Fotenks New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Messages:
    18,170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Okay I'm reformatting my computer, and I want to make sure I backup lightroom properly this time. Last time, I must of did something wrong, cause it had the thumbnails but told me the images were missing, and once I restored the image database, I had lost all my edits, and had to re-PP like 1300 photos :wtc:


    So I've saved the image database on two other hard drives. And I saved the catalogue on both those hard drives too. I feel this is what I did before, because I thought all you needed was the image database, and the catalogue carries all the PP edits. Is there anything I'm missing?
     
  2. mestizo

    mestizo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2003
    Messages:
    8,314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    Maybe grab the appdata folder to be safe?
     
  3. adamlewis88

    adamlewis88 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Google... It is your friend.
     
  4. themolsen

    themolsen New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Messages:
    7,414
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    images + catalog is all you need. to be safe, save the entire folder "Lightroom" that contains your catalog
     
  5. themolsen

    themolsen New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Messages:
    7,414
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    also, you might want to go into LR preferences and check the box to save the presets with your catalog. that will put a settings folder with your catalog you can save your presets and options too.
     
  6. Pants

    Pants New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Messages:
    1,465
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    That's the part I forgot. Good thing I had the presets backed up elsewhere. :hs:
     

Share This Page